Guides by Subject
The most frequently-used databases
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
Includes IPMUS CPS; IPMUS International; IPUMS Global Health; IPUMS NHGIS; IPUMS IHGIG; IPUMS Time Use; IPUMS Health Surveys; IPUMS Higher Ed
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The core of China: Culture and Society is approx. 1,200 full color, full-text searchable pamphlets held in the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia published mostly in English between 1750 and 1929. This collection includes Annual reports, primary sources such as letters and speeches, and journals.
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2026
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
Plays by modern playwrights from around the globe, focusing on the 21st century.
Alexander Street Platform accessibility statement
Log in with your SDSUid and password to access current CSU trials for academic databases.
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2026
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
Presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive periodicals, reference
materials, books, dance notation, and photographs.
Alexander Street Platform accessibility statement
The Data Rescue Project protects and preserves public information. The portal streamlines the process of discovering rescued datasets, enabling users to search by government office, topic, and more.
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2026
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
A comprehensive collection of significant primary documents on modern U.S. foreign, military, and intelligence policy.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
ProQuest Platform accessibility statement
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2026
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
Over 200 years of works from pre-18th century Europe
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
ProQuest Platform accessibility statement
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2026
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
Backfiles of over 40 magazines devoted to video gaming, from the 1980s through to 2020.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
ProQuest Platform accessibility statement
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2026
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
Records collected by Raymond Murphy on Communism in China and Eastern Europe from 1917-1958
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2026
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
Contains the formerly classified and secret proposals that, when approved by the president, became the military and foreign policies of the United States. These records offer a behind-the-scenes view of the highest levels of U.S. military decision-making.
Race Relations in America is a collection of documents produced by the American Missionary Association's Race Relations Department between 1943 and 1970 to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict.
This collection includes primary and secondary resources such as:
- audio recordings of speeches
- photographs of the participants at the Annual Race Relations Institutes
- survey material covering school desegregation, church integration, employment practices, housing and recreation, including interviews and raw data, and the resulting analyses, statistics and reports.
- detailed case studies on race relations in cities such as Baltimore, Pittsburgh, Minneapolis, Trenton, Nashville, and San Francisco.
Reaxys is a chemical search engine that allows you to search for chemical reactions, chemical structures and substance properties. To export Register or Sign In with existing Elsevier credentials (Scopus / ScienceDirect / GeoREF)
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2026
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
Examine how revolutions, protests, resistance, and social movements have shaped and transformed the human experience globally from the 18th to 21st century.
Access to SAGE business case studies covering a wide range of topics and industries, as well as leading global brands and companies. Includes business cases up until 2018 from a variety of providers. Some case content from select providers prior to 2018 is not part of the Essential Collection.
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2026
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
A digital time capsule of socialist thought featuring over 25 digital periodicals.
Trial resource June 2025 - July 2026.
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
Browsable collection of manga by The Father of Manga Osamu Tezuka.
Manga Digital Library is a new generation eBook platform that helps users to navigate and read the content more easily via a simple and intuitive interface.
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2026
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
The backfile of Artforum (later Artforum International), the leading magazine for coverage of international contemporary art, encompasses everything from its launch in 1962 to 2020.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
ProQuest Platform accessibility statement
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2026
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
The Women's Wear Daily Archive provides online access to the definitive fashion and retail publication, Women's Wear Daily (WWD). From its inception in 1910 to recent issues, reproduced in high-resolution images.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
ProQuest Platform accessibility statement
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2026
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
Backfiles of 13 magazines originally published for a teen/pre-teen audience. Coverage spans the years 1940-2020 and sheds light on a host of trends and topics in the history of youth culture, including fashion, rock and roll, sports, sexuality, and dating, as well the media portrayal of youth.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
ProQuest Platform accessibility statement