Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is the first ever scholarly, primary-source database focused on adult comic books and graphic novels. Here are the works of artists both celebrated and overlooked, alongside interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform.
Features full-text articles from more than 320 periodicals, indexing and abstracts for more than 680 periodicals, 14,000 art dissertations, and indexing for more than 220,000 art reproductions. Full-text coverage dating back to 1977.
Subjects Include: Advertising art, Archaeology, Architecture and architectural history, Graphic arts, Industrial design, Motion pictures, Non-western art, Television and video, and much more.
The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.
The Graphic Novels Core Collection database covers a variety of genres including adventure, biography, fantasy, superhero, horror, mystery, romance, science fiction and more. Standards for rating materials by age appropriateness are strictly applied. This content can be used for collection development, readers’ advisory and curriculum support. The resource includes descriptive and evaluative annotations and cover art.
Created by Librarian, Pamela Jackson, this guide organizes selected comics by themes and topics that may be of most use in the higher education curriculum. It is intended to give student researchers and faculty a starting point to explore how topics covered in the classroom are represented in sequential art.
American Indians in DC Comics from 1938-1975. The National Indian Project is an online database of American Indian, Alaskan Native, and Pacific Islander representations in comic books. The National Indian Project is designed as a tool to aid scholars and academics by centrally locating a reference list of all Native American representations in National Comics (Known presently as DC Comics) between the creation of Detective Comics, Inc. in 1937 and the beginnings of the modern corporate comic era in the late 1970s.