Skip to main content
sdsu logo

Comic Arts

These entries describe historical primary source collections available for research in Special Collections at the SDSU Library. Special Collections houses unique archival and manuscript collections, rare books and manuscripts, and graphic/ephemera collections.

Comics in SDSU Special Collections and University Archives

Comic Arts Collection 

The Comic Arts Collection includes circulating comics and scholarship about the comic arts, and a large collection of non-circulating floppy comics and graphic novels in Special Collections and University Archives. The collection emphasizes alternative and independent titles, underground comix, drawn books and Modern Age comics, as well as materials that document the history of comic book culture, fandom and the creative process behind comic book production. Noteworthy holdings include a large collection of ephemera and memorabilia from fan conventions, full runs of RAW Magazine and Milestone Comics, feminist literature, self-published and mini-comics, French language comics, several popular manga series, and vintage comics and comic strips, including Disney Comics.

 

The circulating Comic Arts Collection is located on the first floor of Love Library. The non-circulating comics are located in Special Collections & University Archives.

Edward Gorey’s Personal Library is part of the Special Collections at San Diego State University Library. Gorey collected illustrated wit, humor, nonsense, and comics produced from the 1700s up until his death in 2000. These books’ influence appear in his work. 
 
To search this special collection for comic art is easy. Simply go to the library’s catalog at libpac.sdsu.edu and do a word search for Edward Gorey Personal Library. Next, modify your search by adding any or all of the following words: comic, nonsense, strip, humor. The search string would be: (Edward Gorey Personal Library) and (comic or nonsense or humor or strip). Or try other words of interest to modify your search and see what is in the library. 
 
Since newly-cataloged titles are always being added to the collection, you can use the link in this guide's title to generate a real-time list of results using the search string described above. If you need further assistance, please contact: Linda Salem, Librarian for the Edward Gorey Personal Library.
Loading