Skip to main content
sdsu logo

Political Science

This guide was developed for students and faculty engaged in political science and international relations research.

Resources for local government internship

Tips for searching databases

First, a few definitions:

  • Scholarly journal articles are written by experts for experts in a field and have gone through a peer-review process.
  • Trade or professional articles are written for practitioners in a field.  Articles can be written by experts, journalists, or other practitioners.
  • Popular articles (magazines, newspapers) are written for a general audience, not specialists.

Here is a summary of what we practiced during the class session on 2/18/2016.  Links to the two class handouts are below.

Step 1: Construct a search strategy.

  • State your question as a sentence.
  • Identify key concepts that must be present in the information source; use the connector and.
  • Consider related terms that might be used for a key concept; use the connector or.
  • Use truncation symbol for word variations; use an * (asterisk) or most databases; Lexis/Nexis uses ! (exclamation mark).
  • Use “ “ (double quotation) for phrases.   Don’t overuse phrase searching.  Consider proximity connectors for phrase variation: n# or w#.

Step 2: Determine the type of information your need.

Use the Library Catalog (except for Web/Internet)

  • Books
    • Historical, scholarly, research, summary and in-depth
  • Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
    • Background/overview, key ideas/concepts, definitions
  • Government Publications
    • Research, primary, statistics

 

Use a library database

  • Journals
    • Scholarly, research, in-depth, bibliography
  • Magazines
    • Current, popular culture, opinions, summary
  • Newspapers
    • Current events, popular, opinions
  • Trade/Professional
    • Practitioner perspective, trends, products, techniques

Use Internet search tool (Google, Bing, etc.)

  • Web/Internet
    • Current, expert and popular opinion

Use Google Scholar

  • Journals
    • Scholarly, research, in-depth, bibliography

Step 3: Evaluate your information using the CAARP model.  

  • Use the Cite Your Sources tab on the left to review applying the CAARP model to journal articles.  Consider using Zotero as a way to store and manage your citations.

Step 4: To organize your references, consider creating a ProQuest My Research account.

Tips for searching by geography

Use the database thesaurus to determine format for the country name.  It varies among databases.

Use double quotations " " around phrases: "soft power" 

Searching for relations between countries varies among databases.  Database specific tips below.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

North Korea - post 1948
South Korea - post 1948
Korea - prior to 1948

Peoples Republic of China - post 1949
China - prior to 1948

relations between countries: countryname and countryname and foreign relations as Subject search

other terms to consider: economic policy

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)

North Korea
South Korea
China (People's Republic)

relations between countries: countyname foreign relations countryname as Subject search

other terms to consider:  commerce, cultural relations, economic relations, treaties

Academic Search Premier

Korea (North)
Korea (South)
China

relations between countries: countryname foreign relations countryname as Subject search

other terms to consider: foreign economic relations, international economic relations

Library Catalog (Books & More)

countryname politics and government

countryname foreign relations

countryname foreign relations countryname

countryname foreign economic relations

countryname foreign economic relations countryname