Facts, opinions, and perspectives are information types that you will need for your paper assignment. While these are three types of information, they can each be found in different resource types listed below.
| Reference Material | Opposing Viewpoints | Expert Opinion |
| Reference materials are various sources that provide background information or quick facts on any given topic. | Opposing Viewpoints offers material to support differing views and help students develop critical thinking skills on thousands of current social topics | |
| Types of resources: almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, biographical resources, dictionaries, encyclopedias (both general and by subject), handbooks, indexes, statistics, and citation guides. | Types of resources: primary source documents, statistics, websites, and multimedia | |
| Facts | Facts, Opinions, Perspectives | Facts, Opinions, Perspectives |
includes reference material, opposing viewpoints, & expert opinion
offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on a wide range of topics including: health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, crime, and civil liberties.
To be clear: CQ Researcher Reports are not peer-reviewed and are not considered academic/scholarly sources; however, they are rigorously fact-checked and edited by professionals before publication and, unlike traditional magazine articles, the journalists who write CQ Researcher Reports always include extensive footnotes and annotated bibliographies at the end of their writing.
Search Topic Examples: Media Bias, Press Freedom, Journalism Standard in the Internet Age, Freedom of Information, Internet and Social Media, Regulation and Legal Issues, Journalism and the News
includes facts, opinions, and perspectives
Opposing Viewpoints In Context includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more on today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Search Topic Examples: Internet, Advertising, Censorship, Cyberbullying, Cybercrime, Digital Citizenship, Digital Divide, Digital Media, Fake News on Social Media, Freedom of Speech, Hacking and Hackers, Live Streaming of Violent Acts, Media Bias, Online Dating, Twitter, YouTube
Press Freedom, Journalism Standard in the Internet Age
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources. Nexi Uni provides access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; and full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Nexis Uni screen reader instructions
