Skip to main content

Children's Literature

"Find just five things to improve" and other advice to young writers. In memory of beloved children's author Andrew Clements.

by Linda Salem on 2019-12-03T15:37:00-08:00 | Comments

Today readers, librarians, and teachers mourn the loss of beloved children's author Andrew Clements. We have read and recommended his fiction for decades. This morning I emailed the news to my library coworkers and one immediately emailed back "One of his books is on my living room table at this very moment." I met Andrew at the ALA Newbery/Caldecott Awards Banquet one summer and felt like I had met a rock star. 

Clements' advice to young writers? Find just five things to improve in your writing to make the difference between writing that is really good and writing that's just okay. 

Click here for a great video of Clements offering more advice for young writers. 

For a remembrance of Clements, please check out Shannon Maughan's article in PW today about this beloved children's author.

Rest in peace, brother Andrew. 

-LS 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Recent Posts



Anti-racism, Educators, and Children's Literature
Kadir Nelson's Undefeated Awarded the Caldecott Medal. More Youth Media Awardees Here.
"Find just five things to improve" and other advice to young writers. In memory of beloved children's author Andrew Clements.
Students Review Día de los Muertos Children's Books in ENGL727 Chicanx Children's Literature Taught by Professor Phil Serrato
Coretta Scott King Book Award turns 50!
The Lost Love Letters
From Newspaper Article to Picture Book. Armando and the Blue Tarp School by Edith Hope Fine, Judith Pinkerton Josephson. Hernan Sosa, illus. Lee & Low Books.
The Clara Breed Historical Children's Collection at San Diego State University. A bibliography of books in the collection.
The Juvenile Collection Move --Same Place, Better Organization!
Pointing to the moon. Catching up with picture book author and SDSU alum Cindy Jenson-Elliott.
Classic Children's Books in the Mary Louise Olsen Collection
Gene Luen Yang Recommends Writers and Artists in Comics, Animation, and Graphic Novels in CLAQ Special Issue
The Edward Gorey Personal Library - Explore it today
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Oliver Wilson's Survey (1937)
CFP Children's Literature Society panels at the American Literature Association May 24-27, 2018
Don and Lydia Freeman Added Illustrations in Beady Bear, Pet of the Met, and Chuggy the Blue Caboose.
New Exhibit - The Author A.B.C.s from the Collection of Peter and Helen Neumeyer, July 2017
The SDSU Children’s Book Collections in the SDSU Library
Ukiyo-e, the Floating World Picture, and Children
Fairytale Illustrations - Relief and Illumination
Chris Riddell and letterpress texture in The Sleeper and the Spindle (2015).
Celebrate el dia!
Takeo Takei and Miss Clara Breed
Making Color from Insects in Illustrated Scientific Materials
Books on Color for Artists, Illustrators, Graphic Novelists, Conservationists, Chemists, and Historians. An Annotated Bibliography by Linda Salem and Margaret Drehobl

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.