Skip to main content
sdsu logo

Children's Literature

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Oliver Wilson's Survey (1937)

by Linda Salem on 2017-11-07T11:48:00-08:00 | Comments

 

Looking through my rare books bibliographies I happened upon Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. A Survey of the Important Editions and Issues of One of the Outstanding Book Rarities of Nineteenth Century Literature, by Oliver Wilson and published in 1937 by Rara Libri Publishing Company out of Seattle, Washington. In it we read, 

Alice’s Adventures Underground was the original name given by Lewis Carroll to the story, later on it became Alice’s Hour in Elfland. At the time Lewis Carroll promised to write out Alice for Miss Liddell he had no idea of publication, but his close friend, Mr. George MacDonald, to whom he had shown the manuscript, persuaded him to submit it to a publisher. The publisher agreed to bring forth the books and on June 18th, 1864 the title as we know it today was decided upon. Tom Taylor, dramatist friend of Carroll, advised him to contact John Tenniel with regard to doing the illustrations. This excellent advice was heeded, and on April 5th, 1864, arrangements between John Tenniel and Lewis Carroll were made” (Wilson, 1937, p. 2).

An edition you may not know is Alice's Adventures Under Ground. Being a Facsimile of the Original MS Book. Afterwards Developed into "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. With 37 Illustrations by the Author." By [Dodgson, Charles, L.] :Carroll, Lewis. Pseud. SDSU Library's Edward Gorey Personal Library has a copy of this edition for researchers to examine.

 

Wilson also writes about an Alice association piece that is Alice in Wonderland transcribed into Gregg Shorthand by Georgie Gregg and published by Gregg Publishing Company (N.D.) at 154 pages in length.

For more information on Lewis Carroll, check out The Lewis Carroll Society.

Thanks for reading! 

 

 

 

 

 


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Recent Posts



The Lost Love Letters
From Newspaper Article to Picture Book. Armando and the Blue Tarp School by Edith Hope Fine, Judith Pinkerton Josephson. Hernan Sosa, illus. Lee & Low Books.
The Clara Breed Historical Children's Collection at San Diego State University. A bibliography of books in the collection.
The Juvenile Collection Move --Same Place, Better Organization!
Pointing to the moon. Catching up with picture book author and SDSU alum Cindy Jenson-Elliott.
Classic Children's Books in the Mary Louise Olsen Collection
Gene Luen Yang Recommends Writers and Artists in Comics, Animation, and Graphic Novels in CLAQ Special Issue
The Edward Gorey Personal Library - Explore it today
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Oliver Wilson's Survey (1937)
CFP Children's Literature Society panels at the American Literature Association May 24-27, 2018
Don and Lydia Freeman Added Illustrations in Beady Bear, Pet of the Met, and Chuggy the Blue Caboose.
Is that Book Signed? Illustrators' Drawings as Inscription
New Exhibit - The Author A.B.C.s from the Collection of Peter and Helen Neumeyer, July 2017
The SDSU Children’s Book Collections in the SDSU Library
Ukiyo-e, the Floating World Picture, and Children
Fairytale Illustrations - Relief and Illumination
Chris Riddell and letterpress texture in The Sleeper and the Spindle (2015).
Celebrate el dia!
Takei Takeo and Miss Clara Breed
Making Color from Insects in Illustrated Scientific Materials
Books on Color for Artists, Illustrators, Graphic Novelists, Conservationists, Chemists, and Historians. An Annotated Bibliography by Linda Salem and Margaret Drehobl

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.