Skip to Main Content

Children's and Young Adult Literature

CFP Children's Literature Society panels at the American Literature Association May 24-27, 2018

by Linda Salem on 2017-11-03T10:17:00-07:00 | 0 Comments
CALL FOR PAPERS
Children’s Literature Society (Go to CLS Facebook page)
American Literature Association
29th Annual Conference
May 24-27, 2018
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
5 Embarcadero
San Francisco, CA
 
 
Panel 1: 
Disrupting Morality in Children's Literature.
In the 1800s Maria Edgeworth noted the difficulty of constructing stories
‘suited to the early years of youth, and, at the same time, conformable to
the complicate relations of modern society.’  Children of 2018, a ‘rising
generation’ of remarkably sophisticated individuals, face a startling array
of challenges. In a great many ways, we have seen a new “moral literature”
develop for children—stories that address science and technology,
multiculturalism, diversity (gender, family, socio-economics), and
re-envisioning history so that marginalized peoples and their narratives are
addressed.  How does contemporary children's and young adult literature
“amuse and instruct” or otherwise communicate moral reasoning in an age of
disruption? In what ways has the change in the construction of childhood
influenced narratives? What roles do play, learning, obedience, behavior, and
creativity have in today’s narratives, counter-narratives, anti-narratives,
multi-narratives, and speculative narratives?  
 
Please include academic rank and affiliation and AV requests
Please send abstracts or proposals (around 300 words) by January 10, 2018 to
Dorothy Clark (Dorothy.g.clark@csun.edu), Linda  Salem (lsalem@mail.sdsu.edu)
 
 
Panel 2: 
Empathy, Affect, and Friendship in Children's Literature 
Whether people talk about their own experiences of childhood friendship or
lack of friendship and sense of isolation, the concepts of friendship, social
acceptance and rejection play a powerful role in childhood and are a perennial
theme in children’s literature. Where is comfort, compassion, affirmation or
information about social isolation or connection in today's literature? How do
modern writers convey and express common human emotions of love, fear, anger,
hate, and sadness in this effort to affect the child reader?  And, do these
reflect the changing construction of childhood as well as the deepening
expansion of children’s literature into the domains of multiculturalism,
diversity, and socio-economics?  Examples continue in multiple media--from
such dynamic texts as The Recess Queen and Jacqueline Woodson’s Each
Kindness  to the recent megapopular television series Stranger Things which
defines friendship with rules like "friends don't lie" as a requisite for
belonging to a group—friendship continues to be a central site of reflection
in Children’s Literature.
 
Please include academic rank and affiliation and AV requests
Please send abstracts or proposals (around 300 words) by January 10, 2018 to
Dorothy Clark (Dorothy.g.clark@csun.edu), Linda  Salem (lsalem@mail.sdsu.edu)
 
 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Search this Blog


  Recent Posts


SDSU Lbrary celebrates El Día de los Niños/El Día de los Libros - Children's Day/Book Day with new exhibit
Q & A: What's the Key to Finding Kids' Books in Public Libraries, School Libraries, and on the 4th Floor of the SDSU Library?
Act Locally, Read Globally! WorldKidLit and the Global Literature in Libraries Initiative.
¡Celebremos!: Pura Belpré Award at 25
Anti-racism, Educators, and Children's Literature
Kadir Nelson's Undefeated Awarded the Caldecott Medal. More Youth Media Awardees Here.
"Find just five things to improve" and other advice to young writers. In memory of beloved children's author Andrew Clements.
Students Review Día de los Muertos Children's Books in ENGL727 Chicanx Children's Literature Taught by Professor Phil Serrato
Coretta Scott King Book Award turns 50!
The Lost Love Letters
From Newspaper Article to Picture Book. Armando and the Blue Tarp School by Edith Hope Fine, Judith Pinkerton Josephson. Hernan Sosa, illus. Lee & Low Books.
The Clara Breed Historical Children's Collection at San Diego State University. A bibliography of books in the collection.
The Juvenile Collection Move --Same Place, Better Organization!
Pointing to the moon. Catching up with picture book author and SDSU alum Cindy Jenson-Elliott.
Classic Children's Books in the Mary Louise Olsen Collection
Gene Luen Yang Recommends Writers and Artists in Comics, Animation, and Graphic Novels in CLAQ Special Issue
The Edward Gorey Personal Library - Explore it today
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Oliver Wilson's Survey (1937)
CFP Children's Literature Society panels at the American Literature Association May 24-27, 2018
Don and Lydia Freeman Added Illustrations in Beady Bear, Pet of the Met, and Chuggy the Blue Caboose.
New Exhibit - The Author A.B.C.s from the Collection of Peter and Helen Neumeyer, July 2017
The SDSU Children’s Book Collections in the SDSU Library
Ukiyo-e, the Floating World Picture, and Children
Fairytale Illustrations - Relief and Illumination
Chris Riddell and letterpress texture in The Sleeper and the Spindle (2015).
Celebrate el dia!
Takeo Takei and Miss Clara Breed
Making Color from Insects in Illustrated Scientific Materials
Books on Color for Artists, Illustrators, Graphic Novelists, Conservationists, Chemists, and Historians. An Annotated Bibliography by Linda Salem and Margaret Drehobl

  Subscribe


Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive


  Subjects


Art
Illustration

  Follow Us


  Facebook
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.