Skip to main content
sdsu logo

Children's Literature

Gene Luen Yang Recommends Writers and Artists in Comics, Animation, and Graphic Novels in CLAQ Special Issue

by Linda Salem on 2017-11-21T10:19:00-08:00 | Comments

We Are Okay by Nina Lacour at ninalacour.com (Illustrator - Adams Carvahlo)

The Best We Could Do by Thi Bui at www.thibui.com

All American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely

Ms. Marvel by G. Willow Wilson

Totally Awesome Hulk by Greg Pak

This One Summer by Mariko Tamiki

Pashmina by Nidhi Chanani

 

*Gene Luen Yang recommends these to special issue editor Joseph Michael Sommers (pp. 372-373) in Sommer's article "Animation, Opportunity, and an "Intro-view" with Gene Luen Yang on Making Actual Movement in Children's and Young Adult Literature" in Toward Greater Inclusion and Representation in Comics and Animation, the winter 2017 special issue (24.4): 365-373 of Children's Literature Association Quarterly, Claudia Nelson, Editor, from The Children's Literature Association. 

For more about the Children's Literature Association see http://www.childlitassn.org

We Are Okay cover reproduced here permission courtesy Nina Lacour.


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Recent Posts



The Lost Love Letters
From Newspaper Article to Picture Book. Armando and the Blue Tarp School by Edith Hope Fine, Judith Pinkerton Josephson. Hernan Sosa, illus. Lee & Low Books.
The Clara Breed Historical Children's Collection at San Diego State University. A bibliography of books in the collection.
The Juvenile Collection Move --Same Place, Better Organization!
Pointing to the moon. Catching up with picture book author and SDSU alum Cindy Jenson-Elliott.
Classic Children's Books in the Mary Louise Olsen Collection
Gene Luen Yang Recommends Writers and Artists in Comics, Animation, and Graphic Novels in CLAQ Special Issue
The Edward Gorey Personal Library - Explore it today
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Oliver Wilson's Survey (1937)
CFP Children's Literature Society panels at the American Literature Association May 24-27, 2018
Don and Lydia Freeman Added Illustrations in Beady Bear, Pet of the Met, and Chuggy the Blue Caboose.
Is that Book Signed? Illustrators' Drawings as Inscription
New Exhibit - The Author A.B.C.s from the Collection of Peter and Helen Neumeyer, July 2017
The SDSU Children’s Book Collections in the SDSU Library
Ukiyo-e, the Floating World Picture, and Children
Fairytale Illustrations - Relief and Illumination
Chris Riddell and letterpress texture in The Sleeper and the Spindle (2015).
Celebrate el dia!
Takeo Takei and Miss Clara Breed
Making Color from Insects in Illustrated Scientific Materials
Books on Color for Artists, Illustrators, Graphic Novelists, Conservationists, Chemists, and Historians. An Annotated Bibliography by Linda Salem and Margaret Drehobl

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.