Skip to main content

Children's Literature

Classic Children's Books in the Mary Louise Olsen Collection

by Linda Salem on 2017-12-01T10:40:00-08:00 | Comments

 

If you want to examine the Cinderella story, the current book exhibit in the SDSU children’s literature collection includes versions from around the world told by various writers and  interpreted by various illustrators. These are part of the Mary Louise Olsen Children’s Literature Collection at SDSU Library. The Olsen Children’s Literature Collection is a gift from Mary Lorelei Olsen and Olivia Olsen Hansen of their mother Mary Louise Olsen’s vast collection of children’s literature, art, and fandom collectibles. Olsen, a public library children’s literature librarian and educator, collected a huge assortment of children’s literature. The collection boasts like-new variant editions of well-loved titles. Here is an invaluable research collection for children’s literature/comparative literature scholars, faculty, visiting researchers, teachers, parents and children of all ages. These and other titles in the lovely Olsen collection will be on display and ready for you to check out over the coming weeks.

The following children’s literature titles are found in multiple versions in the Olsen Collection.

Adventures of Pinocchio

Aesop’s Fables

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

Beauty and the Beast

A Christmas Carol

Cinderella

East of the Sun West of the Moon

Goldilocks and the Three Bears

Hansel and Gretel

Just So Stories

Legend of Sleepy Hollow

The Little Mermaid

Little Red Riding Hood

Mother Goose

The Night before Christmas

Peter Pan

Peter Rabbit

Puss in Boots

Rip Van Winkle

The Secret Garden

The Sleeping Beauty

The Snow Queen

Snow White

The Ugly Duckling

The Wind in the Willows

These are just a few of the wonderful treasures in the Olsen collection. 

For more about comparing versions of fairy tales and using an online source for this, I recommend the robust resource Sur la Lune Fairy Tales (2016) where I got the illustrations for this post and which Heidi Anne Heiner, librarian and researcher created and maintains. See http://www.surlalunefairytales.com

 

Thanks for reading.


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Recent Posts



Students Review Día de los Muertos Children's Books in ENGL727 Chicanx Children's Literature Taught by Professor Phil Serrato
Coretta Scott King Book Award turns 50!
The Lost Love Letters
From Newspaper Article to Picture Book. Armando and the Blue Tarp School by Edith Hope Fine, Judith Pinkerton Josephson. Hernan Sosa, illus. Lee & Low Books.
The Clara Breed Historical Children's Collection at San Diego State University. A bibliography of books in the collection.
The Juvenile Collection Move --Same Place, Better Organization!
Pointing to the moon. Catching up with picture book author and SDSU alum Cindy Jenson-Elliott.
Classic Children's Books in the Mary Louise Olsen Collection
Gene Luen Yang Recommends Writers and Artists in Comics, Animation, and Graphic Novels in CLAQ Special Issue
The Edward Gorey Personal Library - Explore it today
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Oliver Wilson's Survey (1937)
CFP Children's Literature Society panels at the American Literature Association May 24-27, 2018
Don and Lydia Freeman Added Illustrations in Beady Bear, Pet of the Met, and Chuggy the Blue Caboose.
New Exhibit - The Author A.B.C.s from the Collection of Peter and Helen Neumeyer, July 2017
The SDSU Children’s Book Collections in the SDSU Library
Ukiyo-e, the Floating World Picture, and Children
Fairytale Illustrations - Relief and Illumination
Chris Riddell and letterpress texture in The Sleeper and the Spindle (2015).
Celebrate el dia!
Takeo Takei and Miss Clara Breed
Making Color from Insects in Illustrated Scientific Materials
Books on Color for Artists, Illustrators, Graphic Novelists, Conservationists, Chemists, and Historians. An Annotated Bibliography by Linda Salem and Margaret Drehobl

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Instagram
  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.