Research by Subject: Online Business Cases & Course Materials: Articles (including HBR)

Using Articles from Harvard Business Review as Course Materials

The library has a subscription to Harvard Business Review through our Business Source Premier database subscription. Unfortunately, our EBSCO license does not allow for the use of the digital version of HBR or the HBR Cases in your course.

If you wanted to assign an article from Harvard Business Review that we own in print, you can scan pages or single articles from our print volumes in compliance with the Fair Use Act of 1976 and the TEACH Act and upload them into Canvas. We could also put the print copy on course reserve. See our Course Reserve page for information on how to do so.

If you would like to work with Harvard Publishing on providing these materials digitally through a course reader, please visit hbsp.harvard.edu.

Harvard Business Review
This link will show you all the issues that we own in print or Microfilm. The issues from 1924 until 1959 are in print in Compact Shelving and need to be paged for scanning. The issues from 1960 until 1982 are only in Microfilm/Microfiche, and these can be accessed and scanned to email in the Microform Center (basement floor of the Library Addition), and the issues from 1982 forward can be found in the bound periodicals on the 5th floor of the love library. The scanners in the library can be located here.

Best Databases for Articles on Business Topics

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, business magazines, newspapers, news wires, trade journals, SWOT analysis, country statistics, and industry reports.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
Research journals, trade publications, magazines, and newsletters covering business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility report
Business: Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports.
Watch a Tutorial
Business Insights: Global contains: Global Company and Industry Intelligence, Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports as well as thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection. There are also case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources. Nexi Uni provides access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; and full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Nexis Uni screen reader instructions
California Newspapers from NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Includes over 470 historical and current California Newspapers, including the San Diego Union Tribune.
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international newspapers.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
Cannabis NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Cannabis NewsBank features current and historical news and information from more than 12,000 sources, including over three million cannabis and hemp related reports, documents and articles.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
One of the databases within HeinOnline is the "Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment" or BLASE. "BLASE is designed to assist researchers in locating sources relevant to the many issues surrounding these critically important subject areas, both of which have now attained global prominence. Organized into sixteen tabs, each covering a distinct type of material, the database builds upon HeinOnline’s historical strengths in legal periodical literature, case law, and U. S. federal and state materials by providing a unique topical arrangement for the documents within each tab while also adding many important new resources not previously available in HeinOnline."

Configuring Google Scholar for SDSU

To display SDSU Library materials in Google Scholar and include a link to those materials in the results, on the Google Scholar mainpage:

Click on the menu button on the left of the page and select Settings
Select Library links and type SDSU
Enter San Diego State into the search box and search.
Check the boxes labeled San Diego State University and click Save

To access the materials from a Google Scholar result look for the link labeled Find it at SDSU, or a direct link to the library database.