Teaching Primary Sources Online

From medicine to myth, including witch trials, the Kabbala, fortune-telling, and Harry Houdini.

Vital records relating to the Salem witchcraft episode

The Scottish Witchcraft Act in 1563 made witchcraft, or consulting with witches, capital crimes in Scotland. This manuscript lists the names, towns where the accused lived, and notes of confession. It is believed many were healers, practicing traditional folk medicine.

Primarily English & French language, some German & Latin; pre-1923. No: stage magic. Light on: theosophy, Kabbalah, & other esoteric/mystic movements.

Religious commune founded by John Humphrey Noyes in 1848 in Oneida, New York

Perennial Wisdom Resources currently consists of three library collections: The Krotona Theosophy and Perennialism Collection, the Lomaland Theosophy and Perennialism Collection and the Peter Philp Collection of Western Esotercism. These three collections have the common thread of being inspired by the 'essential unity of all religions' and the Theosophical Society's Sanskrit motto 'There is no Religion Higher than Truth,' promoted by Theosophy founder, Helena Blavatsky. The Krotona Institute of Theosophy Collection is historically sourced in the work of the social reformer, educator and Theosophist Annie Besant, C. W. Leadbeater and Jiddu Krishnamurti. The Lomaland Collection is linked with the Lomaland community (1897-1942) and the work of its founder, the Theosophic educator and social reformer Katherine Tingley and the theosophic philosophy of G. dePurucker. The Peter Philp Collection is primarily focused around Philp's theosophy-inspired interest in Western Esotericism.

Barr is best known for her two comic book series Stinz (1984) and The Desert Peach (1986). This digitized collection presents her most ambitious work, a series of 12 handmade ornate, stitchery-covered bound sketchbooks, called the Black Manuscripts. The manuscripts contain dozens of separate stories using pencil, ink, watercolor, and silkscreen. Each manuscript has been made available as an individual PDF file to emulate the experience of viewing the physical volumes. Backside pages on which Donna made notations and draft sketches are included in the scans. Due to the very delicate and unique nature of these artistically hand-bound volumes, an overhead scanner was used. Occasional numbered pages have been removed from the physical manuscripts by the artist.

Scifi and black cultural studies

Full view books pertaining to cartoons, comic books, comic strips, "sequential art" etc.

Science Fiction, Fantasy, Utopian Fiction, etc

Fine printing; history of printing, typography, book-design, bookbinding, illustrations, etc., especially in relation to private presses.

Useful books on the subject of typography/lettering

Letterform Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit library, museum, and educational institution dedicated to serving existing and potential practitioners, students, and admirers of the letter arts.

Books about graphic design

Juvenile fiction set between 1914-1919 and generally written during that period that makes at least a passing reference to the war.

Books written for children or commonly read by children, set in Ireland, written by Irish authors, or with a strong Irish connection such as emigrants from Ireland.

Fairytales, Legends, Myths and stories I've found to read to and share with my children.

Cookbooks published in the United States from 1800 to 1920. Website about the collection: https://wp.nyu.edu/early_american_cookbooks/

The Cookbook and Home Economics Collection includes books from the Young Research Library Department of Special Collections at UCLA, The Bancroft Library at The University of California, Berkeley, and the Prelinger Library. These fascinating books take us back to an America in the early decades of the 20th century covering topics on cookery, textiles, family and home, budgeting, domestic sciences, and many other delightful topics.

Explore medicinal and culinary recipes through the ages with this collection of 16th-19th century domestic recipe manuscripts.

This collaboration between Indiana University and the Indianapolis Public Library focuses on Indiana cookbooks dating from the turn-of-the-century, with a special emphasis on fundraising cookbooks published by churches, synagogues and other community organizations.

An online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. The digital archive includes 76 cookbooks from the Michigan State University Libraries' collection as well as searchable full-text transcriptions.

These scans show 'zines in the collection of Marc Fischer, Chicago, IL. Most of these come from the late 80s and early 90s. At the time I was publishing the 'zine Primary Concern and many of these 'zines were trades I made with other self-publishers. Others were simply ordered via mail order or purchased at various record stores.

Located in Lawrence, Kansas the mission of Solidarity! Revolutionary Center and Radical Library is to organize as a non-hierarchical collective for the purpose of sharing and distributing information.

The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.

This is a collection of zines that can be found on the Archive. Zines are self-published, non-commercial publications with typically small circulations. They cover a wide range of topics with many focused on politics, art, creative writing, and personal theory.

Mostly novels by black American authors. If they are open for reading I've included multiple copies. Generally chose the earliest publication date. Possibly skewed toward women writers. Have checked 1800-1965 at https://bbip.ku.edu/novel-collections

The collection contains a mixture of horror fiction, mainly from the 19th and early 20th centuries, as well as literary criticism about Frankenstein, Dracula, and Gothic fiction more generally. It contains 105 documents and 0 duplicates.

Approximately 600 images of San Diego and the local area, primarily from the 20th century.

An inventory and photographs of murals created by Works Progress Administration artists in California. A grant from the SDSU University Grant Program funded the project.

Selections of older maps of San Diego and California from the Library's map collection.

Interviews with prominent local artists including Everett Gee Jackson, Belle Baranceanu, and Homer Dana.

Audio and video interviews with former directors and curators of the San Diego Zoo.

This educational series of radio programs broadcast on KPBS in 1978, explored the legacies of a dozen influential San Diegans. Individuals discussed include Juan Cabrillo, Alonzo Horton, John Spreckels, Kate Sessions, and Ellen Browning Scripps.

A local history project created by SDSU's Educational Growth Opportunities program in 1978-1979. Features several videos on the history of San Diego neighborhoods and local aviation, as well as audio interviews with notable residents.

Bradley, Madge: San Diego's first female judge; Castro, Margaret: Participated in the 1972 Democratic Convention and was friends with feminist leaders Shirley Chisholm and Bella Abzug; Farmer, Velma: President of the San Diego County Federation of Republican Women; Green, Ruth: African-American Republican candidate for the 79th Assembly District for the State of California in the November 1972 elections; Heinzmann, Janice: First female mayor of Del Mar; O'Connor, Maureen: First female mayor of San Diego and former San Diego City Councilmember; Stone, Anna: First female Executive Board Member of the San Diego and Imperial Counties Labor Council.

The collection contains audio, transcripts and summaries in addition to photographs related to the Peoples Temple Christian Church and the Peoples Temple Agricultural Settlement at Jonestown, Guyana

This online exhibit highlights an assortment of audio-visual resources held in the Library's Alternative Religious Movements Collection. Look and listen to some of California's most unique religious thought as represented by these selections.

The collection contains 62 poster, broadsides, and advertisements related to the Chicano movement. The materials are from the early 1970s through the 1980s.

The collection consists of correspondence, photos and other documents on the establishment of Barrio Station and Casares' involvement in the Chicano Movement.

Interviews and recordings of local and prominent Chicanas and Chicanos.

Photos, t-shirts, buttons, banners and more from the Lambda Archives. See the draft of our SD Pride timeline at:
http://SDPride.sdsu.edu

San Diego's Lambda Archives preserves the history of the San Diego LGBTQ movement. These images representing several of their collections document the energy and power of the Pride movement in San Diego.

The collection contains affidavits authored by Professor Davies in support of Latin Americans seeking asylum (mostly LGBTQ), and a video of a lecture at San Diego State University following the release of the affidavit collection.

The collection was donated to the the Lambda Archives by Doug Moore and includes photographs from the Imperial Court de San Diego, MCC Follies, Pride 1991, and Oriental Fantasy.

This Lambda Archives collection preserves photographs from both the Archives and The Center

Lambda Archives Collection P109

Lambda Archives collection number P150.

Lambda Archives collection P180

Lambda Archives Collection P234

Curated from the larger Dignity Photo Collection at the Lambda Archives of San Diego

Banners used for San Diego Pride celebrations and housed at the Lambda Archives

Pride photos from assorted and sundry collections at Lambda Archives

Pride T-shirts, hats and other wearables from around the world. Part of the Lambda Archives T-shirt Collection.

The booklets are the official guides to the annual Pride celebration. Every year is a bit different and they can include maps of the festival site, event schedules, photographs, lists of marshals and people and organizations that make the event possible.

Audio and Video from the Lambda Archives of San Diego

In conjunction with "Creating Community: African Americans in San Diego," the President's Leadership Fund generously sponsored the oral histories of Leon Williams, Reverend George Walker Smith, Bishop George McKinney, and Harold Brown. Facilitated and conducted by SDSU Outreach Librarian Gloria Rhodes, the histories primarily document the political and social struggles and successes these men faced as African Americans in San Diego. Also included in this section is Dr. Shirley Weber's oral history, conducted by oral historian Dr. Susan Resnick and sponsored by the John and Jane Adams Endowment for the Humanities.

"The Heart of San Diego" was a weekly TV program on the air from 1995 to 2007. The show featured interviews conducted by host Fred Lewis with notable San Diegans. These interviews provided insight into local history and the future of San Diego.

Recordings of Citizens Interracial Committee community dialogue sessions regarding race relations in San Diego

The Old Globe Theatre opened for the 1935-36 California Pacific International Exposition on May 29, 1935, and is California's oldest professional theater. Digitized here are photographs of the annual Shakespeare Festival, first celebrated in 1949.

The Vince Meades Popular American Sheet Music Collection, a Visual Index.

This collection features publicity photographs and performances from the San Diego Ballet. Some of the negatives have deteriorated. Many of the photographs in the collection were donated by Jon Blake and Michael Straubinger, two dancers in the company.

The entire collection contains historical files, administrative files, photographs, and audiovisual materials of the San Diego Symphony Orchestra from 1931 to 2002.

Miller and Wade were the comic duo responsible for the San Diego State College silent parody of the film "Beau Geste," which they scripted, and cast Miller as the villainous Sergeant Markoff. The writing team went on to author numerous books under the pseudonym Wade Miller.

A collection of approximately 5,000 original letters sent by San Diego State students on active duty in the armed forces during World War II, or their families, to Professor Lauren Post who compiled and distributed the Aztec News Letter.

This collection consists of seven manuscript diaries written while Asa Sackman, a private age 22, was serving in the 44th Regiment of the Union Army during the American Civil War.

Letters, often poignant, to John and Jane Adams from SDSU students serving in WWII, telling of their experiences, hopes, and fears.

The digitized part of the Post collection includes the files related to the World War II Servicemen's Correspondence series of Post's papers.

The Veterans and Student Success Lecture Series is made possible by a grant from the Aztec Parents Fund. This series of public presentations by veterans is available through the sponsorship of the SDSU Library, The Student Veterans Organization and the Joan and Art Barron Veterans Center.

This exhibit brings together the letters, photos, scrapbook and newsletters associated with the San Diego State community's involvement in World War II.

Interviews with veterans of World War I and the Vietnam War.

Interviews with refugees from Vietnam who immigrated to San Diego following the Vietnam War.

In May 1942, Dr. Lauren Post, professor of geography at San Diego State and veteran of World War I, decided to try a "news service experiment" intended to serve the SDSC students dispersed around the world ands serving in WWII.

Personal histories through a series of interviews with individuals involved in San Diego’s early Comic-Cons. These stories help weave together the cultural history of San Diego and Comic-Con.

Trade cards, also known as advertising cards were popular collectibles in the latter half of the 19th century. They advertised a wide range of manufactured goods and often contain a separate advertisement for the local seller of the product.

This collection covers social issues of the late 1960s to mid 1970s in the United States, especially as manifested on the San Diego State University (College) campus and in San Diego County. These issues include women's rights, civil rights, Marxism, Socialism, Vietnam war protests and other issues related to military conflicts, prisoners' rights, and counter-culture or alternative lifestyles.