E-resources include databases, websites, e-journals, and e-books that are accessed through OneSearch, the A-Z Databases List, Research Guides, etc.
Exercise for Mood and Anxiety Disorders by Jasper A. J. Smits; Michael W. OttoResearch has shown that individuals who exercise regularly have less stress, less anxiety, less depression, and less substance use problems than those who don't. Studies have also shown that exercise can help combat the effects of depression and anxiety.Designed to be used in conjunction with visits to your clinician, this workbook helps you plan an exercise program and provides strategies for following through with your exercise goals. The workbook is structured to help you prevent mood disturbances from blocking the very activities that can helpyou feel better. During the course of this program, you will be introduced to some of the situational factors that can interfere with establishing a successful exercise routine. With the help of your therapist, you will learn how to overcome these factors, as well as how to set up your environmentso that exercise is successful and rewarding.In addition to information on how to start and maintain an exercise program, this workbook comes complete with worksheets and logs for scheduling and tracking your physical activity. Strategies for managing your thinking patterns are also provided and will help you boost your motivation and breakthrough barriers to exercise.
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Exercise for Mood and Anxiety Disorders: Therapist Guide by Jasper A. J. Smits; Michael W. OttoOne of the best kept secrets in the treatment of mood and anxiety disorders is the proven efficacy of a program of exercise, which has many benefits on mood, but has yet to be widely adopted as a therapeutic technique. This therapist guide provides guidance for care providers who want to applyexercise-based interventions to the treatment of mood and anxiety disorders.The interventions described can be applied in a variety of settings ranging from primary care to specialty care in the context of psychological, psychiatric, nursing, or social work settings. Treatment is organized around a weekly prescribed activity program, with an emphasis on teaching patientsstrategies for staying motivated and organized in order to ensure adherence to the program. In addition to the actual exercise prescription, treatment is directed toward helping individuals get the most out of exercise by programming post-exercise cognitive processing and exercise-friendlyactivities.Introductory chapters of this guide describe the intervention and how to initiate it with patients, while later chapters focus specifically on using exercise to combat depression, including bipolar disorder, as well as stress, worry, and panic. This manual provides an integrated approach toestablish exercise programs targeting mood and anxiety disorders and also provides useful cognitive and behavioral interventions designed to support these programs.
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Managing Bipolar Disorder by Michael Otto; Noreen Reilly-Harrington; Robert O. Knauz; Aude Henin; Jane N. Kogan; Gary S. SachsMeant as an accompaniment to formal Cognitive-Behavioural treatment, this workbook provides both patients and families with a wealth of information on bipolar disorder, as well as strategies for reducing the likelihood of episodes of depression or mania. In addition to educational materialsthat define the disorder and show the effectiveness of CBT, it includes exercises patients can use to reinforce what they learned in session. It also provides information on adhering to medications, as well as strategies and forms for charting stress and managing mood. Divided into four phases likethe corresponding Therapist Guide, this workbook teaches patients the skills they need to effectively manage bipolar disorder and reduce the risk of relapse.
Publication Date: 2008-12-16
Managing Bipolar Disorder: Therapist Guide: A cognitive-behavioural approach by Michael Otto; Noreen Reilly-Harrington; Jane N. Kogan; Aude Henin; Robert O. Knauz; Gary S. SachsThis therapist guide outlines a 30-session cognitive-behavioural treatment for bipolar depression. It provides session-by-session instructions for helping clients decrease and prevent relapse. Bipolar disorder is extremely hard to manage and this program will help clients better preparethemselves for dealing with problems and high-risk situations. Treatment is comprised of four stages: a depression-focused phase (9 sessions), a treatment-contract phase, (4-sessions), a problem-list phase (13 sessions), and a well-being phase (4 sessions). This treatment also includes a componentfor families to help them understand the disorder and work together with both the therapist and the patient to get the best results from treatment.
Publication Date: 2008-12-16
Overcoming Depression:A Cognitive Therapy Approach: Therapist Guide by Mark Gilson; Arthur Freeman; Sharon Morgillo Freeman; M. Jane YatesThis therapist guide is designed to give mental health professionals the necessary tools to assess and treat a broad range of mood disorders, particularly depression. Based on the principles of cognitive-behavioral therapy, the Taming the BEAST (TTB) program helps patients develop a set ofcoping strategies and skills to proactively manage their depressed mood.Using the acronym BEAST, treatment modules address biology, emotions, activity, situations, and thoughts. Each module comes complete with step-by-step instructions for delivering treatment including outlines and lists of materials needed. In-session exercises as well as home assignments helpmotivate the patient and allow for the monitoring of progress.Written by experts in the field, this guide comes complete with chapters on assessment, socialization, and termination. The TTB program offers both therapist and patient a roadmap for overcoming the depression 'beast.'
Publication Date: 2009-04-24
Overcoming depression: a cognitive therapy approach : therapist guide by Mark Gilson; M. Jane Yates; Arthur Freeman; Sharon Morgillo FreemanThis workbook is designed to help you as you work together with a qualified mental health professional to overcome your depression. The program described will help you develop a set of coping strategies and skills so that you can proactively deal with depression and prevent it from compromising your quality of life. Based on the idea that depression is a "beast" to be tamed, the treatment utilizes an acronym to help you understand the goals of treatment. You will work with your therapist to understand the biology of depression, as well as how your emotions, your activity level, the situations you find yourself in, and the thoughts you have all contribute to your depression (the BEAST). This treatment is scientifically proven and can be used in conjunction with medication. Filled with worksheets and forms for completing in-session exercises, as well as at-home assignments, this workbook provides all the tools you need to successfully overcome your depression and prevent future relapse. TreatmentsThatWorkTM represents the gold standard of behavioral healthcare interventions! #65533; All programs have been rigorously tested in clinical trials and are backed by years of research #65533; A prestigious scientific advisory board, led by series Editor-In-Chief David H. Barlow, reviews and evaluates each intervention to ensure that it meets the highest standard of evidence so you can be confident that you are using the most effective treatment available to date #65533; Our books are reliable and effective and make it easy for you to provide your clients with the best care available #65533; Our corresponding workbooks contain psychoeducational information, forms and worksheets, and homework assignments to keep clients engaged and motivated #65533; A companion website (www.oup.com/us/ttw) offers downloadable clinical tools and helpful resources #65533; Continuing Education (CE) Credits are now available on select titles in collaboration with PsychoEducational Resources, Inc. (PER)