Research by Subject: GEOG 590 Human-Environment Dimensions of COVID-19: Articles

Find Geography Information

Article Databases - Geography

The databases included below are a great place to start when searching for articles related to Geography. With Geography being a discipline which encompasses a number of focused research areas, the tabs below will link you to databases and resources which are focused within the core areas of geography.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All subjects. Articles in journals, magazines, newspapers; etc.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
To click through to the database, click on the San Diego State University, San Diego option.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is the academic version of Westlaw. Law sources include the full text of U.S. state and federal court opinions, statutes, and regulations; European Union statutes, court decisions, and related material; 800+ law reviews and journals; legal encyclopedia and dictionary. News sources include the full text of newspapers and news magazines; 400+ newswires; newsletters; 900+ broadcast transcripts. Also includes selected business, trade, and professional journals and publications; company information for private and public U.S. corporations; SEC filings.

Instructions for Using Westlaw and Introduction to Legal Research on Westlaw
NewsBank Collections This link opens in a new window
International and U.S. regional and national newspapers, wire services, and broadcasts covering social, economic, environmental, government, sports, people, the arts, health, and science issues and events.

Includes current access to the San Diego Union Tribune by clicking on the "USA-California" link from the main page.

Introduction Content

COVID-19 Legal Materials & News (Westlaw)
Includes news and legal information related to COVID-19 in the United States (link is on the right side of screen after logging in).

COVID impacts and response in Italy

COVID-19 outbreak response, a dataset to assess mobility changes in Italy following national lockdown
Pepe, E., Bajardi, P., Gauvin, L., Privitera, F., Lake, B., Cattuto, C., & Tizzoni, M. (2020). COVID-19 outbreak response, a dataset to assess mobility changes in italy following national lockdown. Scientific Data, 7(1) doi:10.1038/s41597-020-00575-2
Spread and dynamics of the COVID-19 epidemic in Italy: Effects of emergency containment measures
Gatto, M., Bertuzzo, E., Mari, L., Miccoli, S., Carraro, L., Casagrandi, R., & Rinaldo, A. (2020). Spread and dynamics of the COVID-19 epidemic in italy: Effects of emergency containment measures. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 117(19), 10484-10491. doi:10.1073/pnas.2004978117
COVID-19 and Italy: what next?
Remuzzi, A., & Remuzzi, G. (2020). COVID-19 and italy: What next? The Lancet, 395(10231), 1225-1228. doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(20)30627-9
Modelling the COVID-19 epidemic and implementation of population-wide interventions in Italy
Giordano, G., Blanchini, F., Bruno, R., Colaneri, P., Di Filippo, A., Di Matteo, A., & Colaneri, M. (2020). Modelling the COVID-19 epidemic and implementation of population-wide interventions in italy. Nature Medicine, 26(6), 855-860. doi:10.1038/s41591-020-0883-7

COVID and the response in African countries

Short report on implications of Covid-19 and emerging zoonotic infectious diseases for pastoralists and Africa
Egeru, A., Dejene, S. W., & Siya, A. (2020). Short report on implications of covid-19 and emerging zoonotic infectious diseases for pastoralists and africa. Pastoralism, 10(1) doi:10.1186/s13570-020-00173-2
Looming threat of COVID-19 infection in Africa: act collectively, and fast
Nkengasong, J. N., & Mankoula, W. (2020). Looming threat of COVID-19 infection in africa: Act collectively, and fast. The Lancet, 395(10227), 841-842. doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(20)30464-5
Preparedness and vulnerability of African countries against importations of COVID-19: a modelling study
Gilbert, M., Pullano, G., Pinotti, F., Valdano, E., Poletto, C., Boëlle, P. -., . . . Colizza, V. (2020). Preparedness and vulnerability of african countries against importations of COVID-19: A modelling study. The Lancet, 395(10227), 871-877. doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(20)30411-6

COVID and Environmental Conservation

COVID-19: Lessons for the climate change emergency
Manzanedo, R. D., & Manning, P. (2020). COVID-19: Lessons for the climate change emergency. Science of the Total Environment, 742 doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.140563
Coronavirus lockdown helped the environment to bounce back
Arora, S., Bhaukhandi, K. D., & Mishra, P. K. (2020). Coronavirus lockdown helped the environment to bounce back. Science of the Total Environment, 742 doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.140573
Effect of restricted emissions during COVID-19 on air quality in India
Sharma, S., Zhang, M., Anshika, Gao, J., Zhang, H., & Kota, S. H. (2020). Effect of restricted emissions during COVID-19 on air quality in india. Science of the Total Environment, 728 doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.138878
Indirect effects of COVID-19 on the environment
Zambrano-Monserrate, M. A., Ruano, M. A., & Sanchez-Alcalde, L. (2020). Indirect effects of COVID-19 on the environment. Science of the Total Environment, 728 doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.138813

COVID and Environmental Interaction

Significant concurrent decrease in PM2.5 and NO2 concentrations in china during COVID-19 epidemic
Chu, B., Zhang, S., Liu, J., Ma, Q., & He, H. (2021). Significant concurrent decrease in PM2.5 and NO2 concentrations in china during COVID-19 epidemic. Journal of Environmental Sciences (China), 99, 346-353. doi:10.1016/j.jes.2020.06.031
Environment and COVID-19: Pollutants, impacts, dissemination, management and recommendations for facing future epidemic threats
Espejo, W., Celis, J. E., Chiang, G., & Bahamonde, P. (2020). Environment and COVID-19: Pollutants, impacts, dissemination, management and recommendations for facing future epidemic threats. Science of the Total Environment, 747 doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.141314
Reductions in mortality resulting from reduced air pollution levels due to COVID-19 mitigation measures
Son, J. -., Fong, K. C., Heo, S., Kim, H., Lim, C. C., & Bell, M. L. (2020). Reductions in mortality resulting from reduced air pollution levels due to COVID-19 mitigation measures. Science of the Total Environment, 744 doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.141012
Impact of the COVID-19 event on air quality in central China
Xu, K., Cui, K., Young, L. -., Hsieh, Y. -., Wang, Y. -., Zhang, J., & Wan, S. (2020). Impact of the COVID-19 event on air quality in central china. Aerosol and Air Quality Research, 20(5), 915-929. doi:10.4209/aaqr.2020.04.0150
The Influence of COVID-19 on Air Quality in India: A Boon or Inutile
Gautam, S. (2020). The influence of COVID-19 on air quality in india: A boon or inutile. Bulletin of Environmental Contamination and Toxicology, 104(6), 724-726. doi:10.1007/s00128-020-02877-y
Correlation between environmental pollution indicators and COVID-19 pandemic: A brief study in Californian context
Bashir, M. F., MA, B. J., Bilal, Komal, B., Bashir, M. A., Farooq, T. H., . . . Bashir, M. (2020). Correlation between environmental pollution indicators and COVID-19 pandemic: A brief study in californian context. Environmental Research, 187 doi:10.1016/j.envres.2020.109652
COVID-19 as a factor influencing air pollution?
Dutheil, F., Baker, J. S., & Navel, V. (2020). COVID-19 as a factor influencing air pollution? Environmental Pollution, 263 doi:10.1016/j.envpol.2020.114466
Air quality changes during the COVID-19 lockdown over the Yangtze River Delta Region: An insight into the impact of human activity pattern changes on air pollution variation
Li, L., Li, Q., Huang, L., Wang, Q., Zhu, A., Xu, J., . . . Chan, A. (2020). Air quality changes during the COVID-19 lockdown over the yangtze river delta region: An insight into the impact of human activity pattern changes on air pollution variation. Science of the Total Environment, 732 doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.139282

COVID Impacts on Water

Impact of coronavirus (COVID-19) spread-prevention actions on urban water consumption
Kalbusch, A., Henning, E., Brikalski, M. P., Luca, F. V. D., & Konrath, A. C. (2020). Impact of coronavirus (COVID-19) spread-prevention actions on urban water consumption. Resources, Conservation and Recycling, 163 doi:10.1016/j.resconrec.2020.105098
Computational analysis of SARS-CoV-2/COVID-19 surveillance by wastewater-based epidemiology locally and globally: Feasibility, economy, opportunities and challenges
Hart, O. E., & Halden, R. U. (2020). Computational analysis of SARS-CoV-2/COVID-19 surveillance by wastewater-based epidemiology locally and globally: Feasibility, economy, opportunities and challenges. Science of the Total Environment, 730 doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.138875
First detection of SARS-CoV-2 in untreated wastewaters in Italy
La Rosa, G., Iaconelli, M., Mancini, P., Bonanno Ferraro, G., Veneri, C., Bonadonna, L., . . . Suffredini, E. (2020). First detection of SARS-CoV-2 in untreated wastewaters in italy. Science of the Total Environment, 736 doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.139652
Exploring challenges in safe water availability and accessibility in preventing COVID-19 in refugee settlements
Rafa, N., Uddin, S. M. N., & Staddon, C. (2020). Exploring challenges in safe water availability and accessibility in preventing COVID-19 in refugee settlements. Water International, doi:10.1080/02508060.2020.1803018
Disparate on-site access to water, sanitation, and food storage heighten the risk of COVID-19 spread in Sub-Saharan Africa
Ekumah, B., Armah, F. A., Yawson, D. O., Quansah, R., Nyieku, F. E., Owusu, S. A., Afitiri, A-R. (2020). Disparate on-site access to water, sanitation, and food storage heighten the risk of COVID-19 spread in sub-saharan africa. Environmental Research, 189 doi:10.1016/j.envres.2020.109936
COVID-19 and surface water quality: Improved lake water quality during the lockdown
Yunus, A. P., Masago, Y., & Hijioka, Y. (2020). COVID-19 and surface water quality: Improved lake water quality during the lockdown. Science of the Total Environment, 731 doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.139012
COVID-19 lockdown measures reveal human impact on water transparency in the Venice Lagoon
Braga, F., Scarpa, G. M., Brando, V. E., Manfè, G., & Zaggia, L. (2020). COVID-19 lockdown measures reveal human impact on water transparency in the venice lagoon. Science of the Total Environment, 736 doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.139612
SARS-CoV-2 RNA in wastewater anticipated COVID-19 occurrence in a low prevalence area
Randazzo, W., Truchado, P., Cuevas-Ferrando, E., Simón, P., Allende, A., & Sánchez, G. (2020). SARS-CoV-2 RNA in wastewater anticipated COVID-19 occurrence in a low prevalence area. Water Research, 181 doi:10.1016/j.watres.2020.115942
First confirmed detection of SARS-CoV-2 in untreated wastewater in Australia: A proof of concept for the wastewater surveillance of COVID-19 in the community
Ahmed, W., Angel, N., Edson, J., Bibby, K., Bivins, A., O'Brien, J. W., . . . Mueller, J. F. (2020). First confirmed detection of SARS-CoV-2 in untreated wastewater in australia: A proof of concept for the wastewater surveillance of COVID-19 in the community. Science of the Total Environment, 728 doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.138764
Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) outbreak: some serious consequences with urban and rural water cycle
Bhowmick, G. D., Dhar, D., Nath, D., Ghangrekar, M. M., Banerjee, R., Das, S., & Chatterjee, J. (2020). Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) outbreak: Some serious consequences with urban and rural water cycle. Npj Clean Water, 3(1) doi:10.1038/s41545-020-0079-1
Some respite for India’s dirtiest river? Examining the Yamuna’s water quality at Delhi during the COVID-19 lockdown period
Patel, P. P., Mondal, S., & Ghosh, K. G. (2020). Some respite for india's dirtiest river? examining the yamuna's water quality at delhi during the COVID-19 lockdown period. Science of the Total Environment, 744 doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.140851
Wastewater surveillance for Covid-19: An African perspective
Street, R., Malema, S., Mahlangeni, N., & Mathee, A. (2020). Wastewater surveillance for covid-19: An african perspective. Science of the Total Environment, 743 doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.140719
Residential Water Quality and the Spread of COVID-19 in the United States
Hyde, K. (2020). Residential water quality and the spread of COVID-19 in the United States.
SARS-CoV-2 from faeces to wastewater treatment: What do we know? A review
Foladori, P., Cutrupi, F., Segata, N., Manara, S., Pinto, F., Malpei, F., ... & La Rosa, G. (2020). SARS-CoV-2 from faeces to wastewater treatment: What do we know? A review. Science of the Total Environment, 743, 140444.
First detection of SARS-CoV-2 RNA in wastewater in North America: A study in Louisiana, USA
Sherchan, S. P., Shahin, S., Ward, L. M., Tandukar, S., Aw, T. G., Schmitz, B., . . . Kitajima, M. (2020). First detection of SARS-CoV-2 RNA in wastewater in north america: A study in louisiana, USA. Science of the Total Environment, 743 doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.140621

Public Health Aspects of COVID

GIS-based spatial modeling of COVID-19 incidence rate in the continental United States
Mollalo, A., Vahedi, B., & Rivera, K. M. (2020). GIS-based spatial modeling of COVID-19 incidence rate in the continental united states. Science of the Total Environment, 728 doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.138884
The effect of temperature on persistence of SARS-CoV-2 on common surfaces
Riddell, S., Goldie, S., Hill, A., Eagles, D., & Drew, T. W. (2020). The effect of temperature on persistence of SARS-CoV-2 on common surfaces. Virology Journal, 17(1) doi:10.1186/s12985-020-01418-7
Livestock plants and COVID-19 transmission
Taylor, C. A., Boulos, C., & Almond, D. (2020). Livestock plants and COVID-19 transmission. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.
Trends in County-Level COVID-19 Incidence in Counties With and Without a Mask Mandate — Kansas, June 1–August 23, 2020
Van Dyke, M. E. (2020). Trends in County-Level COVID-19 Incidence in Counties With and Without a Mask Mandate—Kansas, June 1–August 23, 2020. MMWR. Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report, 69.

Social Media and Big Data Analytics of COVID-19 Outbreaks

Geographical tracking and mapping of coronavirus disease COVID-19/severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) epidemic and associated events around the world: How 21st century GIS technologies are supporting the global fight against outbr
Kamel Boulos, M. N., & Geraghty, E. M. (2020). Geographical tracking and mapping of coronavirus disease COVID-19/severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) epidemic and associated events around the world: How 21st century GIS technologies are supporting the global fight against outbreaks and epidemics. International Journal of Health Geographics, 19(1) doi:10.1186/s12942-020-00202-8

COVID Impacts on Human Mobility

The effect of travel restrictions on the spread of the 2019 novel coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak
Chinazzi, M., Davis, J. T., Ajelli, M., Gioannini, C., Litvinova, M., Merler, S., . . . Vespignani, A. (2020). The effect of travel restrictions on the spread of the 2019 novel coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak. Science, 368(6489), 395-400. doi:10.1126/science.aba9757
Population flow drives spatio-temporal distribution of COVID-19 in China
Jia, J. S., Lu, X., Yuan, Y., Xu, G., Jia, J., & Christakis, N. A. (2020). Population flow drives spatio-temporal distribution of COVID-19 in china. Nature, 582(7812), 389-394. doi:10.1038/s41586-020-2284-y
Timing of community mitigation and changes in reported COVID-19 and community mobility - Four U.S. Metropolitan Areas, February 26-April 1, 2020
Lasry, A., Kidder, D., Hast, M., Poovey, J., Sunshine, G., Winglee, K., . . . Ethier, K. A. (2020). Timing of community mitigation and changes in reported COVID-19 and community mobility - four U.S. metropolitan areas, february 26-april 1, 2020. Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report, 69(15), 451-457. doi:10.15585/MMWR.MM6915E2
The Contagion Externality of a Superspreading Event: The Sturgis Motorcycle Rally and COVID-19
Dave, D., Friedson, A. I., McNichols, D., & Sabia, J. J. (2020). The Contagion Externality of a Superspreading Event: The Sturgis Motorcycle Rally and COVID-19 (No. 13670). Institute of Labor Economics (IZA).

Children and Young People at a Time of Pandemic

Acute-on-chronic stress in the time of COVID-19: assessment considerations for vulnerable youth populations
Gabrielli, J., & Lund, E. (2020). Acute-on-chronic stress in the time of COVID-19: Assessment considerations for vulnerable youth populations. Pediatric Research, doi:10.1038/s41390-020-1039-7
School closure and management practices during coronavirus outbreaks including COVID-19: a rapid systematic review
Viner, R. M., Russell, S. J., Croker, H., Packer, J., Ward, J., Stansfield, C., . . . Booy, R. (2020). School closure and management practices during coronavirus outbreaks including COVID-19: A rapid systematic review. The Lancet Child and Adolescent Health, 4(5), 397-404. doi:10.1016/S2352-4642(20)30095-X

Impacts of COVID in Social Inequalities

The COVID-19 Pandemic: a Call to Action to Identify and Address Racial and Ethnic Disparities
Laurencin, C. T., & McClinton, A. (2020). The COVID-19 pandemic: A call to action to identify and address racial and ethnic disparities. Journal of Racial and Ethnic Health Disparities, 7(3), 398-402. doi:10.1007/s40615-020-00756-0

Impacts of COVID in US immigration detention

Modeling COVID-19 and Its Impacts on U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) Detention Facilities, 2020
Irvine, M., Coombs, D., Skarha, J., del Pozo, B., Rich, J., Taxman, F., & Green, T. C. (2020). Modeling COVID-19 and its impacts on U.S. immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) detention facilities, 2020. Journal of Urban Health, 97(4), 439-447. doi:10.1007/s11524-020-00441-x
Covid-19 and detention: Respecting human rights
Amon, J. J. (2020). Covid-19 and detention: Respecting human rights. Health and Human Rights, 22(1), 367-370.
COVID-19 and the coming epidemic in US immigration detention centres
Meyer, J. P., Franco-Paredes, C., Parmar, P., Yasin, F., & Gartland, M. (2020). COVID-19 and the coming epidemic in US immigration detention centres. The Lancet Infectious Diseases, 20(6), 646-648. doi:10.1016/S1473-3099(20)30295-4

COVID in Indian Country

American Indian Reservations and COVID-19: Correlates of Early Infection Rates in the Pandemic
Rodriguez-Lonebear, D., Barceló, N. E., Akee, R., & Carroll, S. R. (2020). American indian reservations and COVID-19: Correlates of early infection rates in the pandemic. Journal of Public Health Management and Practice : JPHMP, 26(4), 371-377. doi:10.1097/PHH.0000000000001206
Susceptibility of Southwestern American Indian Tribes to Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)
Kakol, M., Upson, D., & Sood, A. (2020). Susceptibility of southwestern american indian tribes to coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19). Journal of Rural Health, doi:10.1111/jrh.12451

Economic Costs and Benefits of Social Distancing Policies

Isolation, quarantine, social distancing and community containment: Pivotal role for old-style public health measures in the novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV) outbreak
Wilder-Smith, A., & Freedman, D. O. (2020). Isolation, quarantine, social distancing and community containment: Pivotal role for old-style public health measures in the novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV) outbreak. Journal of Travel Medicine, 27(2) doi:10.1093/jtm/taaa020
Mass gathering events and reducing further global spread of COVID-19: a political and public health dilemma
McCloskey, B., Zumla, A., Ippolito, G., Blumberg, L., Arbon, P., Cicero, A., . . . WHO Novel Coronavirus-19 Mass Gatherings Expert Group. (2020). Mass gathering events and reducing further global spread of COVID-19: A political and public health dilemma. The Lancet, 395(10230), 1096-1099. doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(20)30681-4

Differential Effects of the Pandemic Across Socioeconomic Groups

Even more to handle: Additional sources of stress and trauma for clients from marginalized racial and ethnic groups in the United States during the COVID-19 pandemic
Lund, E. M. (2020). Even more to handle: Additional sources of stress and trauma for clients from marginalized racial and ethnic groups in the united states during the COVID-19 pandemic. Counselling Psychology Quarterly, , 1-10. doi:10.1080/09515070.2020.1766420
The impact of the Great Recession on California domestic violence events, and related hospitalizations and emergency service visits
Medel-Herrero, A., Shumway, M., Smiley-Jewell, S., Bonomi, A., & Reidy, D. (2020). The impact of the great recession on california domestic violence events, and related hospitalizations and emergency service visits. Preventive Medicine, 139 doi:10.1016/j.ypmed.2020.106186
The socio-economic implications of the coronavirus pandemic (COVID-19): A review
Nicola, M., Alsafi, Z., Sohrabi, C., Kerwan, A., Al-Jabir, A., Iosifidis, C., . . . Agha, R. (2020). The socio-economic implications of the coronavirus pandemic (COVID-19): A review. International Journal of Surgery, 78, 185-193. doi:10.1016/j.ijsu.2020.04.018

Impacts of the Pandemic in the Global Supply Chain

Predicting the impacts of epidemic outbreaks on global supply chains: A simulation-based analysis on the coronavirus outbreak (COVID-19/SARS-CoV-2) case
Ivanov, D. (2020). Predicting the impacts of epidemic outbreaks on global supply chains: A simulation-based analysis on the coronavirus outbreak (COVID-19/SARS-CoV-2) case. Transportation Research Part E: Logistics and Transportation Review, 136 doi:10.1016/j.tre.2020.101922
Financial markets under the global pandemic of COVID-19
Zhang, D., Hu, M., & Ji, Q. (2020). Financial markets under the global pandemic of COVID-19. Finance Research Letters, doi:10.1016/j.frl.2020.101528

GEOG 590 Human-Environment Dimensions of COVID-19

Library Hours

e-Resource Problem Report