Research by Subject: POL S 380 Human Rights in a Global Perspective: Articles

Introduction

How to Locate a Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Article

In OneSearch:

Enter your search terms into the search box
Select the Search button
When you get your results. Check the box labeled Peer-Reviewed Journals located under the Available at SDSU heading under Tweak my results on the left of the page
Select Apply Filters button to update the results

In other databases:

The steps are similar in other platforms or databases. Look for boxes marked Peer-reviewed, scholarly, or scholarly/ peer-reviewed.

How to tell if an article is: Scholarly/Peer Reviewed/ Academic*?
Can't tell if your article is scholarly/ peer reviewed or not? Use this decision tree to help determine if your source is a scholarly/ peer reviewed article.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All subjects. Articles in journals, magazines, newspapers; etc.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Civil Rights and Social Justice (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Civil Rights and Social Justice collection contains 650+ titles from the United States Commission on Civil Rights, nearly 1,000 congressional hearings, civil rights legislative histories, and nearly 1,400 books, reports, and publications.
Global Issues Library (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
The Global Issues Library includes coverage of 180 issues, topics, and events from the late 1890s to the present, including border and migration, atrocities and human rights violations, peacekeeping, climate change, terrorism, revolutions, and human trafficking. Specific events explored include the U.S. and Mexico Border, the Rwandan Genocide, the Arab Spring, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, and climate migrants in Asia Pacific.
Alexandar Street Platform accessibility statement
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline contains more than 150 million pages and 160,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline covers more than 2,400 law-related periodicals. In addition, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
Jstor screen reader instructions
PubMed Medline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry and other health fields.
To sign up click log in at the top right and find "sign up" at the bottom. Students can then select gmail or another sign up method. Once you have an account setup go to Preferences and add SDSU as an "outside tool." This will add in links to the full text from SDSU. Contact Margaret Henderson, Health Sciences Librarian.
PubMed screen reader instructions
PAIS International (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, government documents and more for the subjects of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles in journals, magazines, trade publications; etc.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
To click through to the database, click on the San Diego State University, San Diego option.

African Human Rights Law Journal
Peer-reviewed journal focused on human rights related topics of relevance to Africa, Africans and scholars of Africa. As democratic practices and the protection of human rights struggle to become rooted in Africa, the Journal aims to contribute towards strengthening indigenous African scholarship.
Columbia Human Rights Law Review
The Columbia Human Rights Law Review (HRLR) seeks to publish and distribute legal analysis and discussion of civil liberties and human rights under both international and domestic law. HRLR believes that thoughtful discussion of human rights issues and broad dissemination of information about legal remedies for human rights violations promote human rights around the world.
Harvard Human Rights Journal
The Harvard Human Rights Journal publishes two issues annually in conjunction with the Law School’s Human Rights Program. The Journal provides a forum for scholarship on a broad range of topics related to human rights, international human rights law, and international humanitarian law.
Health and Human Rights Journal
Provides an inclusive forum for action-oriented dialogue among human rights practitioners. The journal endeavors to increase access to human rights knowledge in the health field by linking an expanded community of readers and contributors.
Human Rights Quarterly
Provides up-to-date information on important developments within the United Nations and regional human rights organizations, both governmental and non-governmental. Includes current work in human rights research and policy analysis, reviews of related books, and other materials.
Human Rights Review
Human Rights Review is an interdisciplinary journal which provides a scholarly forum in which human rights issues and their underlying empirical, theoretical and philosophical foundations are explored. The journal seeks to place human rights practices and policies within a theoretical perspective in order to link empirical research to broader human rights issues.
Journal of Human Rights
The Journal of Human Rights seeks to broaden the study of human rights by fostering the critical re-examination of existing approaches to human rights, as well as developing new perspectives on the theory and practice of human rights. The journal aims to meet a globally growing interest in the study and practice of human rights by serving as an arena for the public discussion and scholarly analysis of human rights, broadly conceived.
Journal of Human Rights Practice
Journal of Human Rights Practice is the main academic journal focusing on human rights practice and activism. This online only journal covers all aspects of human rights activism, spanning professional and geographical boundaries.
Yale Human Rights & Development Law Journal
Yale Human Rights and Development Law Journal (YHRDLJ) is an annual publication that explores the tensions and congruences between human rights, development and the law, encouraging critical and creative thinking about challenges and solutions to challenges facing people around the globe.

POL S 380 Human Rights in a Global Perspective

Library Hours

e-Resource Problem Report

Introduction

How to Locate a Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Article