References*
Hirayabashi, Gordon. 1985. Interview. Raw footage used in Okazaki, Steven. 1985. Unfinished Business. Film. https://ddr.densho.org/interviews/ddr-densho-1012-2-1/. (accessed January 23, 2021).
Japanese American National Museum. "Mass Incarceration Fact Sheet for America's Concentration Camps: Remembering the Japanese American Experience." http://www.janm.org/nrc/resources/accmass/ (accessed January 22, 2021).
[How did this happen paragraph is from the] Alternative Facts: The Lies of Executive Order 9066 documentary. https://tinyurl.com/y2og4o4q
Ina, Satsuki. 2001. Children of the Camps. Psychotherapy.net. https://sdsu-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/f/1ajv7u0/01CALS_ALMA991023463398702917 (accessed January 22, 2021).
Heart Mountain WWII Japanese American Confinement Site."Life in the Camp." Heart Mountain Wyoming Foundation. https://www.heartmountain.org/history/life-in-the-camp/ (accessed January 23, 2021).
Linke, Konrad. "Assembly centers," Densho Encyclopedia https://encyclopedia.densho.org/Assembly%20centers (accessed Jan 22 2021).
Manzanar Committee. nd. "Manzanar at Dusk" https://manzanarcommittee.org/manzanar-at-dusk/ (accessed January 23, 2021).
Nakao, Annie. "Overturning a Wartime Act Decades Later." SFGate. December 12, 2004. https://www.sfgate.com/opinion/article/Overturning-a-wartime-act-decades-later-2665142.php (accessed January 23, 2021).
Niiya, Brian. "No-no boys," Densho Encyclopedia https://encyclopedia.densho.org/No-no%20boys (accessed Jan 22 2021).
Oregon Historical Society. 2002. "Minoru-Yasui (1916-1986)". The Oregon History Project. https://www.oregonhistoryproject.org/articles/historical-records/minoru-yasui-1916-1986/#.YAuDDHdKi3K (accessed January 23, 2021).
Rafferty-Osaki, Terumi. "Sports and recreation in camp," Densho Encyclopedia https://encyclopedia.densho.org/Sports%20and%20recreation%20in%20camp (accessed Jan 22 2021).
Takei, G., Eisinger, J., Scott, S., Becker, H., & Lazcano, G. (2019). They called us enemy. Top Shelf Productions, an imprint of IDW Publishing.
Tong, Benson. "Race, Culture, and Citizenship among Japanese American Children and Adolescents during the Internment Era." Journal of American Ethnic History 23, no. 3 (2004): 3-40. Accessed January 23, 2021. http://www.jstor.org/stable/27501456.
The ten camps paragraph references to follow.
References to Photos:
Home page picture:
Iwata, Jack. "No Title". Partial Photograph. Newell, California: Japanese American National Museum, 1998-2021. Jack Iwata Collection, 1942-1945. http://www.janm.org/collections/item/93.102.8/(accessed January 22nd. 2021).
How did this happen? page picture: National Archives - https://www.archives.gov/education/lessons/japanese-relocation `
How did Children cope with the camps? page picture: is from the Japanese American relocation Digital Archive
How did Japanese Americans Respond to Incarceration?page picture: Densho Encyclopedia
What was daily life like in the incarceration camps? page picture:
Women's volleyball game, 1943, Manzanar concentration camp, Idaho. Courtesy of Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division, Ansel Adams, Photographer, LC-DIG-ppprs-00165. Densho ID: ddr-densho-93-51. http://ddr.densho.org/ddr-densho-93-51/
What were some of the other perspectives? page picture: This photo is of Stelle Ishigo and is from the UCLA Special Collections.
*We are rechecking and are still in the process of editing our references to be sure we are crediting content citations and photos properly. So there may be some changes to the guide in the coming weeks. We thank you for your patience.
