Research by Subject: CSP 596 The Black Experience: Find Articles

Journals

One way to find articles, especially when you don't have a specific topic yet, is to browse the contents of a journal that covers your disciplinary area. Otherwise, searching your topic in one of the databases below is a good way to find peer-reviewed articles.

Try looking through:

Databases

APA PsycInfo
Journal articles, books, and book chapters in psychology and related disciplines.
Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center contains The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975, as well as The HistoryMakers® oral history video resource with extensive interviews with 100 contemporary African Americans, eight additional historical black newspapers, Black Abolitionist Papers, and Black Studies Dissertations.
Diversity Studies Collection
Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspaper, magazine and journal articles from ethnic, minority and native presses.
OneSearch
Search the Library catalog, plus about half our databases to find books, journals and more. EbscoHost databases are not included in the OneSearch index, and will have to be searched separately.
PubMed (Medline)
Journals articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry and other health fields.

For best full text results, patrons should use Chrome, and download the Libkey Nomad Chrome browser extension to make accessing full-text articles from PubMed easier.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.

To click through to the database, click on the San Diego State University, San Diego option.
Sociological Abstracts
Journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.

Plan Your Search Strategy

It helps if you break up you question/hypothesis into separate concepts, each of which you would like to be included in any resources you find. This makes it easier to develop search strategies and find synonyms and other terms for your concepts.

There are several frameworks to help you organize your question into concepts.

PICO – Patient/problem/population + Intervention + Comparison/Control/Comparator + Outcome
PICOC – PICO + Context
PICOS – PICO + Study Design
PICOT – PICO + Time
PECO – Population + Exposure + Comparison + Outcome
PIE – Problem + Intervention + Evaluation
SPICE – Setting + Perspective + Intervention/Interest + Comparison + Evaluation
ProPheT – Problem + Phenomenon of Interest + Time

CSP 596 The Black Experience

Library Hours

e-Resource Problem Report

Journals

Databases

Plan Your Search Strategy