Skip to Main Content

Social Justice

Book Collections

Are prisons obsolete?
Davis, Angela Y. (Angela Yvonne), 1944- author
2003
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

Becoming Ms. Burton: From Prison to Recovery to Leading the Fight for Incarcerated Women
Burton, Susan; Lynn, Cari; Alexander, Michelle
2019
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

Begin again: James Baldwin's America and its urgent lessons for our own
Glaude, Eddie S., Jr., 1968- author
2020
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

Black fatigue: how racism erodes the mind, body, and spirit
Winters, Mary-Frances, author
2020

Blindspot: hidden biases of good people
Banaji, Mahzarin R. author
2013
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

Becoming Ms.
Butler, Paul, 1961- author
2017
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

Citizen: an American lyric
Rankine, Claudia, 1963- author
2014
SDSU Library Unavailable for Check out PS3568.A572 A6 RBR 2014

The color of law: a forgotten history of how our government segregated America
Rothstein, Richard, author
2017
SDSU Library 3rd Floor Books E185.61 .R8185 2017

Color-blind: the rise of post-racial politics and the retreat from racial equity
Wise, Tim J
2010
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

Democracy in Black: how race still enslaves the American soul
Glaude, Eddie S., Jr., 1968- author
2016
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

Diversity in visualization
Metoyer, Ronald A., 1971- author
2019
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

E.J. Josey: transformational leader of the modern library profession
Chancellor, Renate, 1965- author
2020
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

Electric arches
Ewing, Eve L. author
2017
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

The End of Policing
Vitale, Alex S
2017
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

The fire next time
Baldwin, James, 1924-1987 author
1993
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

The fire this time: a new generation speaks about race
2016
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

His truth is marching on John Lewis and the power of hope
Meacham, Jon, author
2020
SDSU Library 3rd Floor Books E840.8.L43 M43 2020

How does it feel to be a problem?: being young and Arab in America
Bayoumi, Moustafa
2008
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

How to be an antiracist
Kendi, Ibram X. author
2019
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

Inclusion in the American military: a force for diversity
2017
SDSU Library 5th Floor Books UB417 .I54 2017

The John Carlos Story: the sports moment that changed the world
Carlos, John, 1945-
2011
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

Justice, institutions, and luck: the site, ground, and scope of equality
Tan, Kok-Chor, 1964-
2019
SDSU Library 4th Floor Books K3250 .T36 2012

Locking up our own: crime and punishment in black America
Forman, James, 1967- author
2017
SDSU Library 3rd Floor Books HV9950 .F655 2017

Men we reaped: a memoir
Ward, Jesmyn
2014
SDSU Library 4th Floor Books PS3623.A7323 Z46 2014

The new Jim Crow: mass incarceration in the age of colorblindness
Alexander, Michelle, author
2020
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

One person, no vote: how voter suppression is destroying our democracy
Anderson, Carol (Carol Elaine), author
2019
SDSU Library 4th Floor Books JK1924 .A54

A peculiar indifference: the neglected toll of violence on black America
Currie, Elliott, author
2020
SDSU Library 3rd Floor Books E185.615 .C87

Pedagogy of hope: reliving Pedagogy of the oppressed
Freire, Paulo, 1921-1997
1994
SDSU Library 4th Floor Books LB880.F732 P432 1994
IVC SDSU Library Imperial Valley Campus Stacks LB880.F732 P432 1994

West, Cornel, author
1993
SDSU Library 3rd Floor Books E185.615 .W43 1993

Racing to Justice: Transforming Our Conceptions of Self and Other to Build an Inclusive Society
John a. powell
2012
Full text available at JSTOR eBooks (EBA)
Full text available at ProQuest EBOOK Central Academic Complete

Racism without Racists: Color-Blind Racism and the Persistence of Racial Inequality in America
Bonilla-Silva, Eduardo
2017
Full text available at view full text

Racist America: Roots, Current Realities, and Future Reparations
Feagin, Joe R; Ducey, Kimberley
2018
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

Rethinking the color line: readings in race and ethnicity
2019
SDSU Library 3rd Floor Books E184.A1 R4485 2019

A shining thread of hope: the history of Black women in America
Hine, Darlene Clark
1998
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

Sister outsider: essays and speeches
Lorde, Audre, author
1984
Center for Intercultural Relations Center for Intercultural Relations PS3562.O75 S5 1984

So you want to talk about race
Oluo, Ijeoma, author
2018
SDSU Library 3rd Floor Books E184.A1 O454 2018

The social construction of difference and inequality: race, class, gender, and sexuality
Ore, Tracy E. author
2019
SDSU Library Resource Sharing Long Loan HN59.2 .S585 2019

The source of self-regard: selected essays, speeches, and meditations
Morrison, Toni, author
2019
SDSU Library 4th Floor Books PS3563.O8749 A6 2019

Stamped from the beginning: the definitive history of racist ideas in America
Kendi, Ibram X. author
2016
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

Suspect citizens: what 20 million traffic stops tell us about policing and race
Baumgartner, Frank R., 1958- author
2018
Full text available at view text

Tears we cannot stop: a sermon to white America
Dyson, Michael Eric, author
2017
SDSU Library 3rd Floor Books E185.615 .D97 2017

They can't kill us all: the story of black lives matter
Lowery, Wesley, 1990- author
2017
SDSU Library 3rd Floor Books E185.615 .L69 2017

This nonviolent stuff'll get you killed: how guns made the civil rights movement possible
Cobb, Charles E., Jr
2014
SDSU Library 3rd Floor Books E185.61 .C633 2014

Trans kids: being gendered in the twenty-first century
Meadow, Tey, 1976- author
2018
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

An Uncommon Faith: A Pragmatic Approach to the Study of African American Religion
Eddie S. Glaude
2019
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

Vanguard: how Black women broke barriers, won the vote, and insisted on equality for all
Jones, Martha S. author
2020
SDSU Library 4th Floor Books JK1924 .J66

Where Are All the Librarians of Color?: the Experiences of People of Color in Academia.
Hankins, Rebecca
2016
Full text available at Social Justice Collection

White Fragility: Why It's So Hard for White People to Talk about Racism
DiAngelo, Robin; Dyson, Michael Eric
2018
Full text available at Social Justice Collection