The library has multiple collections that contain nursing eBooks. By following the links below you can browse the books in our different collections from wherever you are.
There are lots of basic and specialized nursing books in the SDSU Library collection. Enter your keywords in the search box above to find more.
Health Care Professionalism at a Glance by Health Care Professionalism at a Glance offers accessible coverage of an increasingly important aspect of medical and health professional education. This concise text includes how to identify and develop professional behaviours, how they are assessed, and how to challenge unprofessional behaviours. Health Care Professionalism at a Glance: * Provides a user-friendly and thought provoking overview of health care professionalism * Introduces the main topics, key definitions and explores aspects relevant to learners and novice professionals * Considers fundamental features of professionalism that students are expected to acquire as well as how they are taught, learned and assessed * Includes summary boxes that highlight important points, reflection points, clinical cases and suggested further reading * Includes references relevant to different countries' accrediting bodies This important new book will assist students in understanding the nature of professionalism, its assessment, and the implications for professional practice.
Health Equity and Nursing by Authored by highly respected nurse educators, leaders, and scholars, this text focuses on the power of nursing to make substantive contributions to improving the health of all populations. It delivers an in-depth examination and analysis of current issues and determinants of health as outlined by Healthy People 2020 and addresses AACN's Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Nursing Practice.Along with principles, pathways, and imperatives pertinent to achieving health equity, the text discusses the evolution of thinking from eliminating health disparities to achieving health equity, and examines population-based and population-specific inequities in health status and outcomes. Highlighting the importance of interprofessional collaboration, it surveys timely initiatives, programs, and professionals-within and outside of the health sciences-who are important partners in efforts toward achieving health equity. Chapters are highly templated to include objectives, key concepts, critical-thinking questions, discussion questions, and resources. Key Features: Focuses on the power of nursing to make substantive contributions to improving the health of all populations Examines principles, pathways, and imperatives pertinent to achieving health equity Discusses economic, environmental, personal, social, and structural factors that impact health status and outcomes Highlights the importance of interprofessional collaboration in achieving health equity Addresses AACN's Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Nursing Practice Demonstrates key concepts and stimulates reflection through critical-thinking and discussion questions Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers
Professional Nursing by This engagingly written text offers nursing students comprehensive ideas and perspectives that are basic to the practice of contemporary nursing. Each chapter focuses on a foundational area of study and explores the central concepts, relevant issues, dilemma, and debates. It presents a broad-range of professional issues, ranging from a brief history of nursing in the U.S., research and legal issues, to an introduction to nursing organizations and regulatory bodies.
Transitioning from Lpn/Lvn to Bsn by Programs that address the transition from practical/vocational nursing to Baccalaureate nursing were virtually nonexistent two years ago; today there are 155 such programs, a number that continues to increase. This is the first text to address the specific educational needs of students transitioning from LPN/LVN to BSN and professional practice. Comprehensive and user-friendly, the text covers every aspect of role transition in the LPN/LVN to BSN course. It is based on the recommendations of the Institute of MedicineOCOs Future of Nursing and the BSN in 10 initiative. The book provides an overview of professional practice at the BSN level and examines the core, role, and skill competencies required for the Baccalaureate-prepared nurse. The text addresses competence in leadership and management, critical thinking, cultural intelligence, information technology, and professional writing, as well as legal and ethical concerns. It focuses on the role of the RN within an interdisciplinary team, describes the experience of returning to an academic setting, and the challenges of and strategies for accomplishing a successful role transition. Numerous reflective exercises, case vignettes and online case studies reinforce content. Important practice concepts like QSEN and the Essentials of Baccalaureate Education for Professional Nursing Practice are woven throughout the text. A robust ancillary package includes PowerPoints, online quizzes, reflective questions, and case studies. Key Features: Comprises the first text to address the specific needs of rapidly growing LPN/LVN to BSN programs; Covers every aspect of role transition and defines the higher-level skills required for BSNs; Based on recommendations of the Institute of MedicineOCOs Future of Nursing and the BSN in 10 initiative; Designed for use in classroom, online, and hybrid courses; Incorporates reflective exercises, case studies, PowerPoints, and online quizzes to reinforce content"
