Are you an Edward Gorey researcher needing support? The Edward Gorey Personal Library might be able to help. Contact Linda Salem at lsalem@sdsu.edu for more information. Since 2017, there have been over 420 uses of Edward Gorey Personal Library collections items for research and use in SDSU courses. Support for researchers using the Edward Gorey Personal Library has been ongoing as long as the collection has been at SDSU Library. Notable research support occurred between 2014-2018 when the librarian provided research support to Mark Dery as he worked on "Born to Be Posthumous. The Eccentric Life and Mysterious Genius of Edward Gorey." The librarian identified cataloged and uncatalogued books in the Personal Library on selected themes for the author. Other scholars who have visited the Library include nonsense scholar Michael Heyman in 2015.
Are you developing an Edward Gorey-related exhibit? The Edward Gorey Personal Library might be able to help. Contact Linda Salem at lsalem@sdsu.edu for more information. For example, in 2023, the EGPL supported the research of Setsuko Shibata creator of the Japanese exhibit The Journey to the World of Edward Gorey by preparing a bibliography of 19th-century Gorey materials in the Edward Gorey Personal Library collection to determine how those materials might have influenced Edward Gorey’s work. The librarian created a list of books in the library published between 1800-1899, with information about Japanese editions. Also, in 2018, the EGPL supported the research of Erin Monroe for Gorey’s Worlds. Feb 10-May 6, 2018 exhibit at Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art. The librarian identified art books and ephemera in the EGPL that corresponded to those pieces of art Gorey collected that were featured in the exhibit.
Would you like to incorporate Edward Gorey Personal Library as a resource in your course or academic event? Contact lsalem@sdsu.edu for more information.
Courses Using the Edward Gorey Personal Library Collection
"Edward Gorey and The Gashlycrumb Tinies. Influences in the Edward Gorey Personal Library." Class exhibit and presentation by Linda Salem for ENG306 A/W Children's Literature course in SDSU Special Collections and University Archives. 2018-.
"History of the Children's Illustrated Book Taught Through the Edward Gorey Personal Library" Class exhibit and presentation by Linda Salem for ENG306 A/W Children's Literature course in SDSU Special Collections and University Archives. 2010s-
