Research by Subject: Humanities: Archival Collections

Finding Archival Collections

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
ArchiveGrid is a resource for identifying archives by geographical location or for identifying archives topically via their search function. Archives often contain historical documents, personal papers, and family histories. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid.
Online Archive of California This link opens in a new window
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary source collections maintained by more than 150 California institutions, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies and museums throughout the state. More than 20,000 finding aids are in the OAC.

Detailed information about using OAC finding aids (also called collection guides) is available http://www.oac.cdlib.org/help/detailedhelp.html#guides.

Calisphere contains digital collections from California libraries, archives, and museums.

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
Delivers page images and searchable full-text for each paper, along with detailed indexing. Covers the 19th, 20th, and 21st Centuries (1801-2010).
Also called Parliamentary Papers

Help Guide for how to use/search the Parliamentary Papers
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search and explore full-text digital versions of eighteenth-century book titles.

This collection contains the full text of over 180,000 titles, including books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue, it has works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Works are primarily in English, with some titles in other languages.