Surf and Skate Studies

The Surfing Collection in the SDSU Library's Special Collections & University Archives has several major surf magazines dating back to 1963. Some of the magazines, such as Surfing, are cataloged and linked below. The SCUA department is in process of updating the records to reflect all of the holdings, and the magazines currently in the collection without catalog records are as follows: Acetone Mag (issue 2 and 3), Action Sports Retailer (1989, 1995), Adrenalin (2004), Alma Surf (2004-2005), Australia's Surfing Life (1990-1992), Australia's Longboarding Magazine (1998-2002), Automatic Magazine (1999), Beach Break News (2005-2006), Bodyboard International Magazine (1995), California surfers (1998), California Wave (1995), Carbon (2004), Chick (1998-2000), Deep (1996-2000), EMOCEAN (Issue 1 -Current), Fluir (Brazil) (1996-2002), Fluir Especial Girls (2001), Fluir Guia de Pranchas (Shape Guide) (2002), Foam (2004-2006), Free Surf (Hawaii) (2004), Gulf Coast Surf (2003), H2O (1999-2001), Hapa Magazine (Japan) (1995-1996), Hardcore (Brazil) (1995-1996), Heavywater (2005-2007), Hub (issue 12), International Surfing (1967-1973), Longboard Magazine (1995-2007), Longboard Quarterly (1993-1995), Longboarder (1993-1994), Longboarder (New Zealand's Own) (1998), Lower Powered (issues 1-2), Makai Ocean Lifestyle Magazine (2005), Mona Lisa's Magazine (issue 1), Ocean Sports International (1985), PIT Bodyboard Magazine (1996-1999), Planeta Surf (2004-2005), Plow Snowboard Magazine (v. 2.5), Rage (1995-1996), Riptide (1995), SG - Surf/Snow/Skate Girl (2005), Shorebreak, The (2005), Skim (issue 14), Snowboard Life (1996), Soul Surf (1996), Surf (1977), Surf Adventures (n.1-2), Surf Europe (2201), Surf Expo (1996), Surf Portugal (1996-2002), Surf Session (Le Magazine Francais Du Surf) (1989-2000), Surfaholic (Japan) (1995-1997), SURFER (1963-2006), Surfers (Germany) (1995-2002), Surfer Girl (1998), Surfer Travel Report (1999), Surfing Magazine's Bodyboarding (1985-1998), Surfing World Magazine (1978), Surfos (2004), Surfshot (2003-2006), Surftrip Journal (Japan) (1998), Surferwriter's Quarterly (1994), Swami's Surfing Association Newsletter (2001), Swell (1989), Tiare Girl (2003-2004), Transworld Snowboarding (1995-1996), Trip Surf (France) (1995-1997), Wahine (1995-2001), Water (2002), Wave Action Surf Magazine (1998), Wavelength (2001), Wet (2006), Wind (1998), Womens Surf Style Magazine (WSSN) (2005-2007)

Any question regarding the library's physical surf and skate magazine holdings and/or access should be forwarded the Special Collections & University Archives department.

The historic preservation society for skateboard magazines & all things in print related to skating. They build publicly accessible magazine libraries, and they also maintain links to digitized skate magazines and archives in the About Us page.

All Surf Magazines has loaded over 20,000 covers of different surf magazines and other magazines with surf related covers as of December 2022. They cover over 40 different countries and around 70 titles.