Skip to Main Content

Theses and Dissertations: Finding Guide

Finding a Theses or Dissertation at SDSU

Finding a Thesis or Dissertation Written at SDSU

The people that write and publish theses or dissertation are ordinary students who have spent countless hours dedicated to their research paths. Viewing completed theses or dissertation enables you to think about the structure of your own advanced work and provides some idea of what you are working towards. They are your best guide toward understanding what your own final product should be

To search for a master’s thesis written at SDSU you browse the Digital Collections here. You will be able to use the limiters on the left side of the screen to narrow your search by Type (Dissertation or Thesis).

Alternatively, you can be begin at the Library's homepage using OneSearch:

  1. Go to the library homepage here. 
  2. To find a thesis on a particular topic, or written within a particular department, limit your search to Subject (local) and search "SDSU theses" followed by (topic or department.)  For example: SDSU theses (music)

Example: 

SDSU Library OneSearch link (by default this link searches for Theses from the SDSU Public Administration department

  • In the search box, replace SDSU theses (Public Administration) with SDSU theses (department name that you want)

If you are looking for a doctoral dissertation, search the same way as above in the catalog. Limit your search to Subject but use the following search: “SDSU theses (department or discipline) doctoral”.  For example,: “SDSU theses (educational leadership) doctoral”.

If you are looking for an undergraduate thesis, limit your search to Subject Search for "Bachelor's thesis (University Honors Program)”. 

Note about Electronically Published Theses

SDSU student theses published after 2010 are available online.  When you find the one you want in the library catalog, the record will read View WWW version (SDSU users only). Click on this to access the online version.  

Theses in Print

Older theses are shelved in Love Library. Theses written after 2000 are shelved by department, rather than subject matter.   You can find the location of any thesis by using the call number in the library record for that thesis and by noting the floor location noted in the record.  Need help reading a call number? Check out the Library Tutorial on Understanding LC Call Numbers. 

Finding a Theses or Dissertation Outside SDSU

Finding a Thesis Written Outside SDSU

If you want to find a thesis or dissertation written outside of the SDSU community we have a number of databases and resources to help you. One of the most useful of these is ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. To use this, look under ProQuest Digital Dissertations in the Databases A-Z list: ProQuest Dissertations & Thesis Global: Humanities and Social Sciences Collection.

  • Open Access Thesis & Dissertations

  • The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

    • "The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). We support electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide."

  • EBSCO Open Dissertations
    • "With EBSCO Open Dissertations, institutions and students are offered an innovative approach to driving additional traffic to ETDs in institutional repositories. Our goal is to help make their students’ theses and dissertations as widely visible and cited as possible."
  • Naval Postgraduate School (Dudley Knox Library) - Thesis and Dissertation Collection
    • "Publicly releasable NPS Theses, Dissertations, MBA Professional Reports, Joint Applied Projects, Systems Engineering Project Reports and other NPS degree-earning written works."
  • Theses Canada
    • "Theses Canada is a collaborative program between Library and Archives Canada and Canadian universities. The program launched in 1965 at the request of the deans of Canadian graduate schools."
  • OhioLINK Electronic Theses & Dissertation Center
    • "Browse electronic theses and dissertations from over 30 participating colleges and universities in the state of Ohio. It contains the abstract for all included theses and dissertations. The full-text is also available if it was submitted."
  • DART Europe E Theses Portal
    • "Over 1,000,000 full-text electronic theses and dissertations are available from 571 participating universities in 29 European countries."