In 2020, the San Diego State University Library adopted a Library Diversity Plan aligned with diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives across the university and with the university's strategic plan. The SDSU Library embraces collection strategies that reflect the ALA/ARL Cultural Proficiencies for Racial Equity Framework to address inequities in “representation in collections.” Such strategies support “all patrons by building inclusive collections, classifying materials appropriately by centering minoritized communities, and disseminating useful information to under-resourced communities.” Strategies include conducting “diversity audits to ensure collections or resources represent a broad range of authors from diverse racial/ethnic identities.”
The SDSU Library develops collections that support an equitable and inclusive approach to the SDSU curriculum and that reflect the entirety of the SDSU community. We include people of all cultures, languages, classes, races, ethnic backgrounds, religions, and other diversity factors in a manner that recognizes, affirms, and values the worth of individuals, families, and communities, and protects and preserves the dignity of each. We value a range of coverage in perspectives, authorship, audience, and subject matter. We recognize that the diverse community the library serves needs inclusive collections that serve as a foundation for learning and a basis for the creation of new knowledge. This statement acknowledges and protects the rights of all members in our community.
We affirm that considering the needs of under-resourced groups is integral to collection development and management. We recognize the linguistic and cultural diversity of the communities we serve. As we purchase more e-resources, we advocate for the institution to provide technological solutions that make possible inclusive community-wide services to ensure equitable collection access for all. We commit to regularly assessing the adequacy of existing collections to ensure they are reflective of the diversity of the library’s constituent populations. We review demographic trends for our user communities to inform our work. We advocate for inclusive cataloging that improves equity in access to materials.
Our librarians use collection building practices that are transparent and consider university community input.
We commit to a continued review and revision of an equity-centered collection strategy which responds to the emergent context of new policies and practices established by the library profession.
*****
The Library Diversity Plan will be reviewed and updated in 2024-25.
Revised October 14, 2024
