Research by Subject: Health Statistics & Data: United States

Missing US Federal Data

Recent US Executive Orders have had an impact on the availability of some federal data. Below are some options that might have some of the data you are looking for. Please contact me, Margaret Henderson, if you can't find what you need.

Data Lumos
DataLumos is an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources. ICPSR has a long commitment to safekeeping and disseminating US government and other social science data. DataLumos accepts deposits of public data resources from the community and recommendations of public data resources that ICPSR itself might add to DataLumos.
Esri/ArcGIS
For mapping software users, the GIS vendor publishes a number of U.S. Census Bureau data sets, including the ACS, through its ArcGIS Online Platform.

ICPSR (The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
Includes over 700 member institutions and over a half million files of social science research. Also provides access to a large number of data sets from various partners, including U.S. statistical agencies and foundations.

Requires the creation of a personal account from an on campus computer. Remote users MUST first log in to the campus VPN, then access ICPSR. The database can then be accessed anywhere without the VPN for six months before re-authentication is required.
IPUMS This link opens in a new window
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
Includes IPMUS CPS; IPMUS International; IPUMS Global Health; IPUMS NHGIS; IPUMS IHGIG; IPUMS Time Use; IPUMS Health Surveys; IPUMS Higher Ed
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application that makes it easy for anyone to create interactive maps, charts, and reports using 100,000+ data variables.

In order to save your work, you must create an account; you may also sign in as a guest user without creating an account, but you will not be able to save your work.

These two guides from other universities are also helpful:

Finding Government Information during the 2025 Administration Transition, University of Minnesota

Finding Alternative Sources for Federal Information & Data, UNC

State, County, and City Level Statistics

All of Us Research Hub
Learn how to request access to data from this large project and see projects that have been conducted.
All of Us Research Hub Public Data Browser
Use data with tools like R and Python in the Cloud. Look for introductory videos and User Guide.
America's Health Rankings
Produced by the United Health Foundation, "America's Health Rankings presents a yearly 'top ten' list of healthiest, and least healthiest, states based on health status indicators, such as: access to primary care, high school degree attainment, smoking, activity level, etc.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) Coordinated by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the BRFSS is a state-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury. World’s largest telephone survey; it tracks health risks of adults in the US.
CDC/ATSDR Social Vulnerability Index
The CDC/Agency for Toxic Substances Disease Registry Social Vulnerability Index (CDC/ATSDR SVI) uses 15 U.S. census variables to help local officials identify communities that may need support before, during, or after disasters.
City Health Dashboard
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps: State Reports
actionable data, evidence, guidance, and stories for communities to make it easier for people to be healthy in their neighborhoods, schools, and workplaces. Ranking the health of nearly every county in the nation,
Data.Census.Gov American FactFinder has transitioned to Data.Census.gov, and still provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in Data.Census.Gov come from several censuses and surveys.
Environmental Justice Index
uses data from the U.S. Census Bureau, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. Mine Safety and Health Administration, and the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to rank the cumulative impacts of environmental injustice on health for every census tract.
FastStats A-Z topic list of statistics and data available from U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Health Indicators Warehouse "Provide a single, user-friendly, source for national, state, and community health indicators."
IMHE US County Profiles
Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation data for US counties.
Kaiser Family Foundation Features data on health care produced by the Kaiser Family Foundation as well as from other organizations. Includes data on each U.S. state.
Minority Health Social Vulnerability Index (SVI)
uses data from the United States Census Bureau and other public sources to help identify communities that may need support before, during, and after disasters, with a focus on minority racial, ethnic, and language groups as well as medical vulnerability.
National Health and Nutrition Examination (NHANES) A program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations. Coordinated by the National Center for Health Statistics of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) Principal source of information on the health of the civilian non-institutionalized population of the United States and is one of the major data collection programs. Interviewers are from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Rural Health Information Hub - Data Sources
Locate data to understand rural health needs and rural/urban disparities
U.S. Census Bureau American FactFinder
Includes U.S. Census Bureau Decennial Census, Economic Census, American Community Survey (ACS), and Population Estimates with data from 2000 to present.
WONDER: Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research Provides a single point of access to a wide variety of public health reports and data systems produced by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors six types of health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults, including:
more...less...
Behaviors that contribute to unintentional injuries and violence
Sexual behaviors that contribute to unintended pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases, including HIV infection
Alcohol and other drug use
Tobacco use
Unhealthy dietary behaviors
Inadequate physical activity
YRBSS also measures the prevalence of obesity and asthma among youth and young adults.

YRBSS includes a national school-based survey conducted by CDC and state, territorial, tribal, and local surveys conducted by state, territorial, and local education and health agencies and tribal governments.

Other U.S. Resources

Atlas of Rural and Small Town America
Provided by the USDA - statistics for people, jobs, county classifications, income, and veteran.
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) The CDC is the primary federal stakeholder for preventative health for the United States. The CDC gathers health status and behavior data through surveillance and surveys. The CDC promotes interventions with demonstrated effectiveness and provides public-health information about the scope of diseases and conditions on the health of Americans.
Feeding America Food Insecurity in the US map.
Health, United States Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics. Presents national trends in health statistics. Each report includes an executive summary, highlights, a chartbook, trend tables, extensive appendixes, and an index. Produced by the National Center for Health Statistics.
Health Data All-Stars
Health Data All-Stars is a directory of prominent health data resources at the federal, state and local levels housed on the Health Data Consortium’s website.
Healthy People 2030 Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Contains many links to statistical data that represents benchmarks.
Mapping Medicare Disparities by Population
The MMD Population View provides a user friendly way to explore and better understand disparities in chronic diseases,
more...less...
and allows users to: 1) visualize health outcome measures at a national, state, or county level; 2) explore health outcome measures by age, race and ethnicity, sex; 3) compare differences between two geographic locations (e.g., benchmark against the national average); and 4) compare differences between two racial and ethnic groups within the same geographic area. (Use of the Chrome browser is recommended.)
MLA Language Map
From the Modern Language Association covering the linguistic and cultural composition of the United States.
Public Health Services and Systems Research Compiled by the National Library of Medicine, this site examines questions that relate to the financing, organization and delivery of public health services - and how those factors translate to population health.
USDA Food Access Research Atlas.

Health Statistics & Data

Data Repositories

Library Hours

e-Resource Problem Report

Missing US Federal Data

State, County, and City Level Statistics

Other U.S. Resources