Research by Subject: Economics: Country Information

Country Information Databases

The databases and open web resources can be used to gather information nationally and internationally.

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 265 world entities.

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Country Reviews are full-text reports on 191 countries around the globe. Country Wire provides global real-time news of these countries from major international wire services. CountryWatch Forecasts provides 5-year macroeconomic forecasts for each of 192 countries in both tables and graphs. Historical data is also available for key macroeconomic measures. Data is downloadable in spreadsheet format.

CountryWatch functions best when using the Chrome browser. You may experience compatibility issues in Internet Explorer.
International Financial Statistics (Database) This link opens in a new window
Access to macroeconomic and financial data produced by the International Monetary Fund.

Provided through the generosity of the College of Business.
Passport (Euromonitor International) This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor International's reports provide business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries.
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Concise information on all aspects (political, economic, social, educational, etc.) of nations; lengthy updates on politics and foreign relations of each country.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results, data, and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics.

Alpha Vangtage
Alpha Vantage provides realtime and historical financial market data through a set of powerful and developer-friendly data APIs and spreadsheets. From traditional asset classes (e.g., stocks, ETFs, mutual funds) to economic indicators, from foreign exchange rates to commodities, from fundamental data to technical indicators, Alpha Vantage is your one-stop-shop for enterprise-grade global market data delivered through cloud-based APIs, Excel, and Google Sheets.

UN Data
Web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.
WorldBank
The World Bank Group works in every major area of development. We provide a wide array of financial products and technical assistance, and we help countries share and apply innovative knowledge and solutions to the challenges they face.
World Fact Book
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.