E-resources include databases, websites, e-journals, and e-books that are accessed through OneSearch, the A-Z Databases List, Research Guides, etc.
How to Discover Comics that Match Your Topic
Figuring out which comics fit your research topic is not always an easy task unless you are an avid reader of comics! For example, you may want to know which titles include characters of a certain race from the Golden Age; or how gender is represented in the Silver Age; or maybe examples of wealth inequality or climate justice in Modern Age Comics. In addition to searching the Internet for tips and ideas from comics journalism and other fans, here are some resources to help match comics to your chosen topic.
Created by Librarian, Pamela Jackson, this guide organizes selected comics by themes and topics that may be of most use in the higher education curriculum. It is intended to give student researchers and faculty a starting point to explore how topics covered in the classroom are represented in sequential art.
Our mission is to facilitate access to comics that contain queer representation. This includes: Comics published in print and on the web; Comics from major publishers, independent publishers, and self-published comics; Comics for children, teens, and adults, as well as all-ages comics; Representation from across the LGBTQIA spectrum, as well as intersectional representation.
An online annotated bibliography. Here you will find a collection of 46 graphic novels that focus on a shared topic: mental illness. Because this is an annotated bibliography, you will also find book summaries, analysis, and recommendations.
American Indians in DC Comics from 1938-1975. The National Indian Project is an online database of American Indian, Alaskan Native, and Pacific Islander representations in comic books. The National Indian Project is designed as a tool to aid scholars and academics by centrally locating a reference list of all Native American representations in National Comics (Known presently as DC Comics) between the creation of Detective Comics, Inc. in 1937 and the beginnings of the modern corporate comic era in the late 1970s.
Fan-created encyclopedia of toons, defined as "a cartoon or cartoon character — "cartoon" referring not just to the animated kind, but also to such "still cartoons" as comic books, newspaper strips, magazine cartoons, etc."
The Planetary Republic of Comics knowledge portal aims to capture this history of global cross-pollination that includes the physical transmigration of artists and their styles and worldviews from one place (region or country) to another. Its content makes visible those creators from around the world who have chosen to use visual and verbal devices to give shape to stories (fiction and non-fiction) that make up our planetary republic of comics. Planetary Republic of Comics serves as a living, breathing space that provides accessible scholarly knowledge about comic books and graphic nonfiction from around the world.
A list of book-length studies on the history and criticism of comics and a variety of categories. Individual book entries may include the book's Table of Contents, on-site reviews, printed review citations, links to on-line information, and more.
Graphic Novels Core Collection, 1st Edition (2016) by H. W. Wilson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-06-10
H.W. Wilson's new Graphic Novels Core Collection (1st Edition, 2016) provides expert recommendations, developed by H.W. Wilson's team of library and media specialists. Whether for collection development, collection maintenance, readers' advisory, or curriculum support, Graphic Novels Core Collection provides the sound guidance that librarians need so they can rest assured that they are selecting materials that will best serve their collection and their patrons.
Heroes and Superheroes by Bart Beaty; Stephen Weiner; Salem Press Editors
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
The first title in this series, Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Heroes and Superheroes, provides in-depth insight into over 130 of the most popular and studied graphic novels. Researchers will be familiar with the characters and stories included in this collection, but will gain a deeper new understanding, as the literary nature of the stories is presented in critical format by leading writers in the field of study.
History, Theme and Technique by Bart H. Beaty (Editor); Stephen Weiner (Editor); Salem Press Editors
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
The fourth set in the series, Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: History, Theme & Technique is a one-volume set that contains over 70 essays covering themes and concepts of graphic novels. It includes genres, time periods, foreign language traditions, social relevance, and craftsmanship such as penciling and inking.
Independents and Underground Classics by Bart H. Beaty (Editor); Stephen Weiner (Editor); Salem Press Editors
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Independent and Underground Classics offers 215 essays covering graphic novels and core comics series, focusing on the independents and underground genre that form today's canon for academic coursework and library collections.
Manga by Bart H. Beaty (Editor); Stephen Weiner; Salem Press Editors
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Manga, provides in-depth insight for over 65 of the most popular manga graphic novels, ranging from metaseries to stand-alone books. A recent influx of translated Japanese manga into the American market has sparked a greater interest in foreign-language traditions and longform comics storytelling. this set focuses on translated works that have been particularly influential in the development of the manga tradition.