Skip to main content

Art

Resources for the fine arts, including photography and architecture.

Biographies

Oxford Art Online has biographical information on artists, definitions of art terms and artistic movements, and digital images from four major art reference sources.
 
Also useful:
Artist biographies master index [ N40 .A78 Reference ]
artnet lets you search by artist's name, style and movements, and by materials and technique. Unrestricted access.
Contemporary artists [ N6490 .C6567 1989 Reference ]
Dictionary of artists (Benezit) [ N40 .B4713 2006  Reference ]
Encyclopedia of Asian American artists [ N6538.A83 H35 2007  Reference ]
Encyclopedia of Native American artists [ N6538.A4 E94 2008  Reference ]
Penguin dictionary of art and artists [ N31 .M8 1997 Reference ]
The Thames and Hudson dictionary of photography [ TR9 T53 2015 Reference ]
the-artists.org has biographies of major modern and contemporary artists. Provides portraits of artists, links to articles and books, art prints, etc. Searching can be done by name, movement, and discipline. Unrestricted access

Encyclopedias

Artspeak : a guide to contemporary ideas, movements, and buzzwords, 1945 to the present [ N6490 .A87 2014  Reference ]
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms [ N33 .C575 2010  Reference ]
Dictionary of twentieth-century art [ N6490 .C5317 1998 Reference ]
Encyclopedia of Latin American & Caribbean Art [ N6502 .E53 2000  Reference ]
Encyclopedia of world art [ N31 .E533 Reference ]
Grove encyclopedia of materials and techniques in art [ N8510 .G76 2008  Reference ]
Penguin dictionary of art and artists [ N31 .M8 1997 Reference ]
Queer encyclopedia of the visual arts [ N72.H64 Q44 2004 Reference ]
Styles, schools and movements : the essential encyclopaedic guide to modern art [ N6490.4 .D45 2010  Reference ]