Skip to Main Content
Help & Services
Ask Us 24/7
San Diego State University
Research by Subject
Search this Guide
Resources for the fine arts, including photography and architecture.
Biographies and Encyclopedias
SDSU Special Collections
e-Resource Problem Report
e-Resource Problem Report
Please use this form to report issues you encounter while accessing any e-resources.
E-resources include databases, websites, e-journals, and e-books that are accessed through OneSearch, the A-Z Databases List, Research Guides, etc.
The Chicago Manual of Style
University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: Reference Z253 .U69 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
This and Turabian are the only major style manuals which continue to use footnotes or endnotes and a bibliography. It is used in the humanities and social sciences, especially in history.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); University of Chicago Press Staff (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by)
Call Number: Research Desk LB2369 .T8 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04-03
A Dictionary of Modern American Usage
Bryan A. Garner
Call Number: 4th Floor Books PE2827 .G37 1998
Publication Date: 1998-12-03
By the author of Chicago's chapter on grammar.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online
Online version of the Chicago Manual of Style
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation [Research Desk KF245 .B58]
One of 3 legal citing resources favored by Chicago.
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary
Preferred dictionary by many style manuals for spelling, capitalization, etc. Part of the Encyclopedia Britannica Online. Limit to Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus when searching.
Free DOI Lookup
From CrossRef.org. Look here to find DOIs to complete APA citations for journal articles. DOIs can also be added to Chicago Manual of Style citations.
Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition
From Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab). Examples for Notes and Bibliography system.
Citing Information: Chicago
From the UNC Libraries. Covers both Author-Date and Notes and Bibliography systems.
Turabian Citation Guide 8th Edition
Examples from University of Chicago Press.
Tutorials on Chicago/Turabian Style
Tutorial: Why Citations Matter
Video: Turabian Citation Style
Quiz: Turabian Citations
Video: Chicago Style 17th ed. Journals
Video: Chicago Style 17th ed. Books and ebooks
Video: Chicago Style 17th ed. Websites and Social Media
Quiz: Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition
SDSU Special Collections >>
Aug 18, 2022 11:39 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem