Keywords for Latina/o Studies (an Outstanding Academic Title by CHOICE Magazine) gathers 63 essays by scholars across disciplines to define key terms and debates in Latinx Studies. It covers both established and emerging concepts—such as borderlands, migration, citizenship, mestizaje—highlighting the field’s breadth, tensions, and ongoing transformations. Accessible for newcomers as a map of debates and history, it also serves as a valuable resource for scholars seeking deeper critical engagement with this dynamic area.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference papers Latin America covering various fields in the humanities and the social sciences.
Circuit is the fastest way to get books and media that not available in the SDSU Library. Find and order titles from San Diego area libraries: CSU San Marcos, UCSD, USD, San Diego City Library System, San Diego County Library System. Items generally available for pickup at the Circulation Desk within 1-2 days.
Books, audio/visual material, book chapters, and articles, etc can be requested via Rapido/ILL. If an item is not available at our library, go to OneSearch and select the "Other Collections" radio button. You will need to log into your Library Account in the top right corner using your SDSUid and password. After logging in, you'll see a blue "Get It" box in the item record. If you are requesting a physical copy, be sure to select your pick location (SDSU Library, SDSU IV Library, or Locker Self-Service Pick-Up) and the Specific Volume (if applicable) before pressing Send. If you can't find the item in the OneSearch after searching "Other Collections," fill out a Blank ILL Request Form. To check on your request, please log into your Library Account. For more assistance please email ILL at ill@sdsu.edu.
All subjects. Articles in journals, magazines, newspapers; etc.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
Jstor screen reader instructions
Journals from various university presses. Mostly humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSE screen reader instructions
Articles in journals, magazines, trade publications; etc.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
Fuente Académica Plus is a database of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals. Hundreds of titles from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain cover all major subject areas, including agriculture, economics, history, law, literature, psychology and sociology.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference papers Latin America covering various fields in the humanities and the social sciences.
Collection of open access journals from Latin America, Spain and Portugal maintained by the Autonomous University of the State of Mexico. Search functions and most articles in Spanish.
Provides scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities published in leading open-access journals from Latin America, Portugal, Spain, and South Africa.
Search in Spanish, Portuguese, or English.
Journal articles, book reviews, and original literary works in social science and humanities journals that regularly contain information on Latin America, the United States-Mexico border region, and Latin@s in the United States.
Journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference papers Latin America covering various fields in the humanities and the social sciences.
Monthly report on development and the environment in Latin America. Includes Guide to Latin American Environmental Agencies. English and Spanish language versions.
Informe Académico indexes a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades (CLASE)
Bibliographic database maintained by the Universidad Nacional Autónmoma de México (UNAM) offering about 350 thousand bibliographic records of articles, essays, book reviews, literature reviews, short notes, editorials, biographies, interviews, statistics and other documents published in about 1500 journals from Latin America and the Caribbean, specializing in social sciences and humanities.
An open access database that indexes journal articles, book chapters, theses and monographs published in Spain.
Índice de Revistas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias (PERIODICA)
This is a bibliographic database created in 1978 at the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM). The database is updated daily and more than 10,000 records are added each year.
Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literature
Provide scientific health information from Latin America and the Caribbean countries.
Latin Americanist Research Resources Portal (LARRP)
Provides open electronic access to the tables of contents of journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean between the years 1994 and 2009. LAPTOC consists of 975 academic and research journals published in 29 countries in the region, including bibliographic references to more than 340,000 articles in the area's major languages. US Universities coverage.
Is a network of 24 institutions that operate in a coordinated approach to collect and disseminate information on scientific journals produced in the region, also integrating those that disseminate Ibero-American studies in the world.
Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de Ciencias Sociales en América Latina y el Caribe
This repository is a collaborative initiative that disseminates the production of CLACSO's network of associated centers and programs since 1998. It is currently being updated and migrated.
Background information
General Reference
Collection of electronic reference books, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.
eBooks in Spanish
E-books in Spanish
The HathiTrust Digital Library includes millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials digitized from collections in libraries around the world. As you search HathiTrust, there are three different types of books you will find: Temporary Access, Full View, and Limited (search-only).
SDSU Library users have search and preview access only. Full-text access is only available for works deemed to be in the public domain in the United States of America
The SciELO Books Portal publishes national and thematic collections of Brazilian academic books online published by FIOCRUZ, UFBA and UNESP. Includes Open Access ebooks as well as titles for purchase.
Primary Sources
SDSU Digital Collections
Colecciones de Instituciones Mexicanas
The SDSU Library is collaborating with several libraries and archives in Mexico to increase online access to their unique and important collections. This Colecciones de Instituciones Mexicanas site highlights the collections of our partner organizations in Mexico, which include the Archivo Histórico de Tijuana and the Biblioteca de Investigación Juan de Córdova (BIJC) in Oaxaca.
Primary Sources from Latin America
Historical documents, archives, photos, video from a collaboration of Mexican institutions.
Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards. These items were originally created by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
A cooperative digital library from Florida International University for newspapers, photos and other historical documents from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. Duke is a contributing member of dLOC.
Latin American and Caribbean Digital Primary Sources (SALALM)
The Latin American and Caribbean Digital Primary Sources portal lists open access digital portals to primary sources for the use of historical research. Each item is annotated and the list is organized into six main categories: “Historical Texts by Country“, “Historical Texts/General“, “Statistics“, “Visual Material by Country“, “Visual Material General“, and “Miscellaneous.
Latin American Government Archives
A project of the U. of Texas that includes selected documents from the Presidents and ministries of 18 Latin American Countries.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
Scarce and unique pamphlets, primarily from Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico, published during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Latin American Posters Collection
The posters included in this collection were created by a wide variety of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, and other types of organizations across Latin America, in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and services.
A digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries. Presented by Brown University.
Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.
Statistics and Data
Economic Commission for the Latin America and the Caribbean Data and Statistics
ECLAC has developed a number of information systems related to economic and social development in the Latin American and Caribbean region. These systems are available for governments and institutions of the region through direct request to the corresponding divisions.
Círculo de Estudios Latinoamericanos (CESLA)
This is a center dedicated to the analysis of the Latin American economy, created within the activities of the Klein Institute of the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (UAM) and the Centro de Estudios "Economía de Madrid" of the Universidad Rey Juan Carlos (URJC).
It provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Country Reviews are full-text reports on 191 countries around the globe. Country Wire provides global real-time news of these countries from major international wire services. CountryWatch Forecasts provides 5-year macroeconomic forecasts for each of 192 countries in both tables and graphs. Historical data is also available for key macroeconomic measures. Data is downloadable in spreadsheet format.
CountryWatch functions best when using the Chrome browser. You may experience compatibility issues in Internet Explorer.
DataPlanet Statistical Datasets
Provides access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data.
Instituto Nacional de Estadistica, Geografia e informatica (INEGI)
National statistics and data from Mexico
Statistics: Latin American Network Information Center
List of link to many data sources from or about Latin America, organized by country.
Inter American Development Bank - Datasets
Specialized dataset in Latin America countries.
Latin American Mortality Database (LAMBdA)
It is a project at the University of Wisconsin-Madison that is directed by Dr. Alberto Palloni of the Department of Sociology. It supports the study of very recent mortality trends and is particularly suited for the study of old age mortality during the post-WWII period. The database covers the interval between 1848 and 2014 and contains data on population censuses, age-specific total death counts, mortality rates, and life tables.
Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)
The AmericasBarometer survey is the only scientifically rigorous comparative survey that covers 34 nations including all of North, Central, and South America, as well as a significant number of countries in the Caribbean. Each year it publishes dozens of high quality academic studies and policy-relevant papers.
Corporación Latinobarómetro researches the development of democracy, the economy and society as a whole, using public opinion indicators that measure attitudes, values and behaviors. The results are used by socio-political actors in the region, international and governmental actors, and the media.
Latin American Electronic Data Archive (LAEDA)
LAEDA will seek to collect the electronic data sets held by individual researchers as well as originating public or private institutions in Latin America. The initial focus of LAEDA will be on electoral data, household survey microdata, and data relevant to social policy evaluation. Data sets and related information collected as part of this project can be downloaded from the LAEDA collection in the University of Texas Digital Repository (UTDR).
Latin America Web Archiving Project
This page contains a list, ordered by country, of links to the top level archived version of all ministry and presidency Web sites captured as part of the LAGDA project.
Dissertations and Thesis
Collection of student theses and dissertations from as early as 1939, but mainly from 2010 to present.
Dissertations and Theses Global: The Humanities and Social Sciences (ProQuest)
Covers the Humanities and Social Science disciplines offered at over 550 universities worldwide.
NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).
Latin America Region
Is a repository that centralizes and facilitates the search for scientific publications in the region. There, researchers, teachers and students can find articles and master's and doctoral theses from almost one hundred universities in the eight countries that make up the network.
Red de Repositorios Latinoamericanos
It currently has more than 8,000,000 publications, from more than 500 institutions in 21 countries.
Is a database that contains citations for over 300,000 theses submitted at the Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, dating from 1803 to the present day.
Colección de Tesis Digitales - UDLAP
Contains the academic production of the Universidad de las Americas Puebla.
Red Mexicana de Repositorios Institucionales
Is a federated network of institutional and thematic repositories of Mexican Higher Education and Research Institutions, which collects and integrates their scientific, academic and documentary production deposited in the repositories, for its dissemination, visibility and open access through a common interface and other aggregators and international networks of which it is part.
Contains the academic production of the Universidad Peruana de Ciencias Aplicadas.
Catálogo de Teses e Dissertações
The Coordination for the Improvement of Higher Education Personnel (CAPES) is a foundation of the Ministry of Education (MEC) which has a fundamental role to expand and improve postgraduate studies (masters and doctorates) in all the states of the country.
Biblioteca Digital de Teses e Dissertaçõnes
Contains the academic production of the Universidad de São Paulo, Brazil.
News and Newspapers
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources. Nexi Uni provides access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; and full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
U.S. and international newspapers.
Regional Newspapers
Spanish language news and general interest articles from three international press wire services.
News from Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico.
Latin American Network Information Center - Newspapers
Links to newspapers by country and around the world.
Zona Latina - Latin American Newspapers
List by country of newspaper web sites, some with free content.
Historic Newspapers
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
Online archive from the University of Arizona that documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Web Portals
Latin American Network Information Center
LANIC is located at the University of Texas where full time faculty and trained student assistants evaluated web sites relevant to all aspects of Latin American and Caribbean Studies until 2015 when work on the site stopped. Organized by country, theme and discipline, the site still contains many useful links.
Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian Free Online Resources
A warehouse of online free e-resources with Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian full content. Adds to what is in LANIC (above) and is current.
Images
High resolution digital images and descriptive information primarily covering art, architecture, photography, and archaeology. Instructional videos available on the Artstor Youtube channel.
List of links to regional art websites, museums, foundations and galleries. Compiled by Latin American Network Information Center.
Films
Kanopy is a collection of documentaries and films that have been requested by faculty for class purposes only.
Some users have difficulty opening Kanopy links in the Safari browser. If the link won't open, try a different browser.
Kanopy has a Public Performance Rights indicator. A "PPR" icon appears near the top of the details page for films that can be shown at free public events.
If you are a faculty member and need a particular film on the Kanopy platform please complete the form HERE.
If you are looking for additional films to watch please browse the Streaming Media Guide: HERE.
The library collection has DVD versions of feature and documentary films from Latin America. Use OneSearch to search for a specific film by title, or use a keyworld search and limit the Material Type to DVD. From this screen you can also limit to Spanish language.
Pragda Film Collection (Docuseek)
A collection of Spanish language films that illuminate the culture of Latin America and Spain.
