Research by Subject: Latin American Studies: Primary Sources

General Reference

World Protest and Reform Movements Global Perspectives
A primary source collection documenting social, political, and cultural movements from the 18th to 21st centuries. Includes newspapers, pamphlets, government documents, and archival materials from around the world, focusing on protest, reform, civil rights, and revolutionary movements. Ideal for research in history, political science, sociology, and global studies.
Primary Sources (Gale)
Gale Primary Sources is an integrated research environment that allows users to search across all of their Gale primary source collections. Gale Primary Sources takes users beyond a simple search and retrieve workflow, allowing them to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. Through intuitive subject-indexing users will discover new material even in the most familiar of content sets.

SDSU Digital Collections

Colecciones de Instituciones Mexicanas
The SDSU Library is collaborating with several libraries and archives in Mexico to increase online access to their unique and important collections. This Colecciones de Instituciones Mexicanas site highlights the collections of our partner organizations in Mexico, which include the Archivo Histórico de Tijuana and the Biblioteca de Investigación Juan de Córdova (BIJC) in Oaxaca.

Primary Sources from Latin America

Colecciones Mexicanas
Historical documents, archives, photos, video from a collaboration of Mexican institutions.
Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards. These items were originally created by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
A cooperative digital library from Florida International University for newspapers, photos and other historical documents from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. Duke is a contributing member of dLOC.
Latin American and Caribbean Digital Primary Sources (SALALM)
The Latin American and Caribbean Digital Primary Sources portal lists open access digital portals to primary sources for the use of historical research. Each item is annotated and the list is organized into six main categories: “Historical Texts by Country“, “Historical Texts/General“, “Statistics“, “Visual Material by Country“, “Visual Material General“, and “Miscellaneous.
Latin American Government Archives
A project of the U. of Texas that includes selected documents from the Presidents and ministries of 18 Latin American Countries.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
Scarce and unique pamphlets, primarily from Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico, published during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Latin American Posters Collection
The posters included in this collection were created by a wide variety of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, and other types of organizations across Latin America, in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and services.
Latin American Travelogues
A digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries. Presented by Brown University.
National Security Archive
Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.
more...less...
Particular projects of interest (see projects tab): Brazil, Colombia, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Southern Cone

Books of Primary Souces in the Library

The Guatemala Reader by Greg Grandin (Editor); Deborah T. Levenson (Editor); Elizabeth Oglesby (Editor)
Call Number: F1466 .G877 2011
ISBN: 9780822350941
Publication Date: 2011-10-31
This reader brings together more than 200 texts and images in a broad introduction to Guatemala's history, culture, and politics.
The Rio de Janeiro Reader by Daryle Williams (Editor); Amy Chazkel (Editor); Paulo Knauss de Mendonça (Editor)
Call Number: F2646.3 .R568 2016
ISBN: 9780822359746
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
Spanning a period of over 450 years, The Rio de Janeiro Reader traces the history, culture, and politics of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, through the voices, images, and experiences of those who have made the city's history. The volume contains a wealth of primary sources, many of which appear here in English for the first time.
Women and Gender in Modern Latin America by Pamela S. Murray (Editor)
Call Number: HQ1460.5 .W6145 2014
ISBN: 9780415894548
Publication Date: 2014-03-12
Women and Gender in Modern Latin America brings together selections from recent scholarship with excerpts from an exciting array of primary sources, many translated into English for the first time, to bring the story of women's involvement in modern Latin American history up to date. Covering major developments in the region from the bitter wars of Spanish American independence (1810-1825) through the turn of the twenty-first century.
Milestone Documents in World History by Brian Bonhomme (Editor); Cathleen Boivin (General Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780979775864
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Among the primary sources included are iconic legal and constitutional documents such as the Code of Hammurabi, Magna Carta, and African Union Constitutive Act; famous treatises such as the Communist Manifesto, and Osama bin Laden's Declaration of Jihad against America; important international agreements from the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo to the Treaty of Versailles; and cultural and political declarations such as Gandhi's Quit India Speech and Nelson Mandela's Inaugural Address.