Research by Subject: Spanish and Portuguese Language and Literature: Translation

Translation

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. No book reviews.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
JSTOR
Scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
Jstor screen reader instructions
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
All subjects. Articles in journals, magazines, newspapers; etc.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)
Journal articles, book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations from the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
ProQuest Ebook Central (Contains EBL, Ebrary & My iLibrary)
Wide variety of subjects in e-book format.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Ebook Central accessibility statement
Project MUSE Journals
Journals from various university presses. Mostly humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSE screen reader instructions

Oxford English Dictionary
Traces the usage of words from across the English-speaking world with etymological analysis, variant spellings, and pronunciation.

WordReference.com
An online dictionary for multiple languages.
Language Realm
A resource for language reference which includes the Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Latin, and Spanish languages. The site provides information about slang and colloquialisms as well as idioms and expressions.
SpanishDict.com
A free online Spanish dictionary offering information on verb conjugation, grammar, and vocabulary.

PEN America: Tools for Translators
The PEN Translation Committee advocates for literary translators, working to foster a wider understanding of their art and offering professional resources for translators, publishers, critics and others with an interest in international literature.
InTranslation
Web-exclusive section of The Brooklyn Rail featuring unpublished translations of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and dramatic writing. Launched in April 2007, InTranslation is a venue for outstanding work in translation and a resource for translators, authors, editors, and publishers seeking to collaborate.
About Translation Blog
Information, news and opinions about professional translation.
Language Realm
Free translation resources in English, Spanish, French, German, Latin, Chinese, and Japanese.
oTranscribe
A free web app to take the pain out of transcribing recorded interviews.
Don Quixote in English: A Chronology
An interactive chronology of translations of Cervantes' Don Quixote into English, with images and links to U-M Library holdings.

HathiTrust Digital Library
The HathiTrust Digital Library includes millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials digitized from collections in libraries around the world. As you search HathiTrust, there are three different types of books you will find: Temporary Access, Full View, and Limited (search-only).
SDSU Library users have search and preview access only. Full-text access is only available for works deemed to be in the public domain in the United States of America

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and his memory continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related content today.
Three Percent
Three Percent launched in the summer of 2007 with the lofty goal of becoming a destination for readers, editors, and translators interested in finding out about modern and contemporary international literature.

WorldCat SDSU
Combined catalog of many U.S. and international libraries. SDSU holdings are visible in WorldCat.
Place an Interlibrary Loan request with ILLiad.

The American Literary Translation
ALTA has been centered on the art, craft, and culture of literary translation for over four decades. Over the years, ALTA has grown in size and scope with an eye toward inclusivity and an aim to embrace and reflect the field. From its committees to its board, staff, and beyond, ALTA’s work is responsive to and shaped by literary translators and their communities
American Translation and Interpreting Studies Association (ATISA)
The purpose of ATISA is to encourage, support, and further the study of translation studies, especially by organizing meetings, publishing a journal, Translation and Interpreting Studies (TIS), disseminating information to the public at large, by fostering ties with allied organizations, and by such other means as the Association may deem appropriate.
British Centre for Literary Translation
Britain’s leading centre for the development, promotion and support of literary translation.
Poetry Translation Centre
Presents poems in three stages: in the original language, in a literal English translation, and the finished English version.
Spanish Association of Translators, Proofreaders & Interpreters (ASETRAD)
ASETRAD was founded with the aim of uniting all translators, proofreaders and interpreters.