The library purchases access to hundreds of databases that allow you to search for individual journal articles. The databases listed here are most relevant for Biological Sciences and have been listed in alphabetical order as the relevance may vary depending on discipline.
One of the world's largest collections devoted to agriculture and its related sciences.
Search the USDA National Agricultural Library for resources from AGRICOLA, PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections.
Review articles in many subjects, with a concentration in the life sciences.
Journal articles, books, conference proceedings, patents in the life sciences.
10 simultaneous users
Covers the Science and Engineering disciplines offered at over 550 universities worldwide.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
Connect with SDSU subscription content through Google Scholar by configuring your Library Links in Google Scholar - link settings will be present any time you are logged into Google.
1. Go to http://scholar.google.com
2. Look above the search box and click on the three horizontal line menu icon and select Settings.
3. Click on Library Links from the navbar along the side of the page.
4. Enter San Diego State in the text field next to Library Links then click on the Search button.
5. Check all the boxes with our university name. Also search and find and check the box titled Open WorldCat - Library Search, then click Save in the lower right corner.
Our access includes JoVE Science Education, JoVE Journals, JoVE Journal Research, JoVE Business
Video library of easy to understand scientific demonstrations.
Journals articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry and other health fields.
To sign up click log in at the top right and find "sign up" at the bottom. Students can then select gmail or another sign up method. Once you have an account setup go to Preferences and add SDSU as an "outside tool." This will add in links to the full text from SDSU. Contact Margaret Henderson, Health Sciences Librarian.
PubMed screen reader instructions
Full-text Biomedical and life science journals. Some articles are embargoed.
PubMed screen reader instructions
Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880—with seed money from Thomas Edison. Today, Science continues to publish the research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
To click through to the database, click on the San Diego State University, San Diego option.
