Research by Subject: Communication: Literature Review & Annotated Bib

Literature Review & Annotated Bibliography

Both Literature Reviews and Annotated Bibliographies require you gather sources and provide a summary and analysis as it related specifically to your research question. These sources are largely made up of scholarly journal articles and books.

Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography is a list of sources followed by a descriptive and evaluative paragraph.

An annotated bibliography helps the research identify what has been discovered and discussed by existing literature because it provides an in-depth review of the topic and encourages critical thinking. It is a way for you to critically read the source, identify the main points, and highlight the strengths and weaknesses of their arguments as it pertains to your topic.

Basham, S. L., Radcliff, V. P., & Bryson, S. L. (2023). How to write an annotated bibliography. Journal of Criminal Justice Education, 34(2), 289-298.

This book is a step-by-step guide to writing a literature review, and includes tips for modifying the process as needed depending on your audience, purpose, and goals. The lessons in this book can be applied to writing the background section for a thesis or an original research publication.

Writing a Literature Review and Using a Synthesis Matrix
Need help writing your literature review that aligns with your research question?
Use this worksheet to make it easier.
As you write your review, you will work horizontally in the row belonging to each point discussed. As you combine the
information presented in each row, you will begin to see each section of your paper taking shape. Remember, some of the sources may not cover all of the main ideas listed on the left, but that can be useful also. The gaps on your chart could provide clues about the
gaps in the current state of knowledge on your topic.

SAGE Research Methods
Sage Research Methods accessibility guide includes information for screen readers for text, video players, and more.

SAGE Research Methods has more than 1,000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by academics across the social sciences.
SAGE Research Methods Cases has more than 1,100 case studies of how real research projects were conducted.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing.
SAGE Research Methods Video contains more than 480 videos and 125 hours of tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum.
Resources for faculty teaching with SRM:

Sage Research Methods webinar
Using SRM to Teach Research Methods
Sample Assignments

Communication

Library Hours

e-Resource Problem Report

Literature Review & Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliography