Communication research is dispersed among many disciplines, so you may need to consult more than one database. The databases listed below are good places to start your search for journal articles and books on your topic.
All subjects. Articles in journals, magazines, newspapers; etc.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
1967 to present for Mexican-American experience; 1992 to present for Cuban Americans, Puerto Ricans, and Central Americans. All types of published materials covering art, language, sociology, public policy, economics, history, literature, politics, and law.
15 simultaneous users
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Communication Source offers hundreds of top communication journals, magazines and other sources covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric, and discourse.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media brings together information found in hundreds of journals. Articles cover all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.
Learn about major issues from current and historical perspectives and the inner workings of the U.S. government from authoritative, accessible, and unbiased sources..
Journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, curricular material, documents, and more.
EBSCO platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Check out the Opposing ViewPoints Research Guide
Pop Culture Collection provides access to 2,000,000+ articles from scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
Journal articles, books, and book chapters in psychology and related disciplines.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Access all academic platform ProQuest databases. Some ProQuest databases have custom platforms and are not present in this access portal.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
Journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports dealing with the impact of gender on a broad spectrum of subject areas.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
Journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, care plans, and pamphlets. Nursing and other allied health fields. Cited reference searching available. Pre-CINAHL contains in-process material for CINAHL.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Journals articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry and other health fields.
To sign up click log in at the top right and find "sign up" at the bottom. Students can then select gmail or another sign up method. Once you have an account setup go to Preferences and add SDSU as an "outside tool." This will add in links to the full text from SDSU. Contact Margaret Henderson, Health Sciences Librarian.
PubMed screen reader instructions
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
To click through to the database, click on the San Diego State University, San Diego option.
