Research by Subject: Africana Studies: Articles

Articles

Use the databases below to find journal articles for Africana Studies. If you would like to search within a particular journal visit SDSU Library Journal Finder. If you are looking for a specific journal article, and have the title, author and journal information, try using the Citation Finder.

African American Historical Serials Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Coverage Dates: 1829-1922
Collection content includes:
More than 170 unique titles related to African American life and culture
Reports and annuals from African American religious organizations and social service agencies, as well as African American periodicals
Extensive coverage of African American religious organizations, churches and institutions
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Developed in conjunction with Atla, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology, African American Historical Serials Collection is the product of more than ten years of organizing and collecting materials.
It is a complete, centralized and accessible resource of formerly fragmentary, widely-dispersed and endangered materials. Titles were collected from 75 institutions, including small institutions that had not previously participated in preservation projects.
Compiled and accessible to researchers in one digital collection, this unique resource documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from 1829 and 1922.
Content features multiple religious denominations, including the African Methodist Episcopal Church, the African Methodist Zion Church and many Baptist churches.
Thousands of searchable primary source content include reports and annuals from African American religious organizations and social service agencies, as well as African American periodicals.
America: History and Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Black Studies Center (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center contains The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975, as well as The HistoryMakers® oral history video resource with extensive interviews with 100 contemporary African Americans, eight additional historical black newspapers, Black Abolitionist Papers, and Black Studies Dissertations.
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper, magazine and journal articles from ethnic, minority and native presses.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
Kanopy Streaming Media This link opens in a new window
30,000+ documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers touching on all topics, Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by all staff and students.
If faculty plan to use a video on Kanopy in a class, we encourage them to contact Gloria Rhodesin advance of or near the beginning of the semester so that the Library can manually trigger the purchase of a one-year license, protexting access to content later in the semester.
If Kanopy is on hiatus, users only have access to titles that have already triggered a 1 year license purchase. Faculty who planned to use a Kanopy title in class but did not trigger a license purchase before Kanopy went on hiatus can contact Gloria Rhodes
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles in journals, magazines, trade publications; etc.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods accessibility guide includes information for screen readers for text, video players, and more.

SAGE Research Methods has more than 1,000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by academics across the social sciences.
SAGE Research Methods Cases has more than 1,100 case studies of how real research projects were conducted.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing.
SAGE Research Methods Video contains more than 480 videos and 125 hours of tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum.
Resources for faculty teaching with SRM:

Sage Research Methods webinar
Using SRM to Teach Research Methods
Sample Assignments

Also Useful:

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All subjects. Articles in journals, magazines, newspapers; etc.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
Jstor screen reader instructions
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources. Nexi Uni provides access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; and full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Nexis Uni screen reader instructions
Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new window
Journals and books from various university presses. Mostly humanities and social sciences.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, and book chapters in psychology and related disciplines.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in all major areas of political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy.

ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility report
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
earliest 1917; most 1999 to present
NOTE: To view only titles to which SDSU subscribes, click on "SAGE Journals available to me" from the browse journals by title page.

Africana Studies

Library Hours

e-Resource Problem Report

Articles