Research by Subject: Africana Studies: SDSU Special Collections

Manuscript and Archival Collections

Carlin Integration Case Records, 1950-1997 The Carlin Integration Case Records include nearly three decades of court proceedings and research for Kari Carlin et al v. Board of Education, San Diego Unified School District. The records include court transcripts, briefs and court orders, correspondence, maps and charts of ethnic imbalance, various committee reports, court exhibits and depositions, declarations, interrogatories, enrollment statistics, student testing result studies, trial notes, news clippings, and information concerning similar court cases. The collection is divided into two series: Research Files and Court Records.
School Integration Task Force Records, 1974-1983 The School Integration Task Force Records document the Task Force's research and findings concerning the San Diego Unified School District's integration plan. These records contain correspondence, monitor applications and logs, school assignments, student testing results, enrollment statistics, court orders and charges, task force reports, race/human relations materials, and surveys. The collection dates from 1974-1983, and is divided into two series: General Files and Reports and Surveys.
Citizens United for Racial Equality (CURE) Records, 1962-1990 The Citizens United for Racial Equality (CURE) Records (1962-1990) document the organization's activities and interests as well as the larger struggle for equality and integration in San Diego. The collection includes correspondence, meeting minutes, membership lists, newsletters, pamphlets, project files, questionnaires and surveys, news clippings, reports, and more. The majority of material dates from 1968 to 1976 and is divided into two series: Administrative Files (1964-1990) and Related Organizations Files (1962-1976).
Leon Williams Papers, 1961-2006 The Leon Williams Papers document three decades of William's public service career, and includes news clippings, photos, correspondence, invitations, public appearance forms, public opinions, campaign information, reports, ordinances, plaques, certificates of achievement, various committee files, and conference minutes. During his time on city council, Williams advocated land use programs, revitalization of older neighborhoods, and the use of public transportation. The majority of the material dates from about 1970 to the late 1990's, and highlights these aspects of Williams' career. The collection is divided into five series: Campaign Files (1969-1994), Conference Files (1974-2000), Professional Files (1966-2003), Personal Files (1961-2006), and News Clippings (1969-2002).
Reverend George Walker Smith Papers, 1950-2000 The Reverend George Walker Smith Papers document Smith's ministerial career in San Diego at the Golden Hill United Presbyterian Church and Christ United Presbyterian Church, as well as his political, social, educational, and religious achievements. The collection includes sermons, church announcements, correspondence, Board of Education scrapbooks, news clippings, accolades, plaques and certificates of achievement, Kiwanis Club Information, and newsletters. The collection is divided into three series: Personal Files, Scrapbooks, and Awards/Plaques.
Alpha Pi Boulé Records,1965-2003 The Alpha Pi Boulé Records document the history and activities of Alpha Pi Boulé, chapter 39 of the Sigma Pi Phi Fraternity. Filed alphabetically in a single series, it documents the chapter's foundation, its social action programs, partnerships with community schools, as well as Alpha Pi Boulé's relationships with other community organizations including the San Diego DX International Association / DX San Diego Club and the San Diego Amateur Radio Club. Included are meeting minutes (1985-2001), Executive Committee meeting minutes (1992-2000), bylaws, constitutions, financial records, membership reports, correspondence, and a few artifacts. The collection also contains photos from some of the Alpha Pi Boulé's meetings and events in the 1990s, and photos from the San Diego Metropolitan Radio Club. A video tape from one of the Pacific Coast Regional Conventions (1999) is also included in the collection
Harold K. Brown Papers, 1956-2000 The Harold K. Brown Papers (1956-2000) document Brown's participation in the local Civil Rights Movement, his dedication to community economic development, and his professional life, with a heavy emphasis on the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), Brown's role in the School Integration Task Force, and his involvement with the Black Economic Development Task Force. Highlights include the Congress of Racial Equality's actions against the employment practices of the San Diego Zoo, SDG&E, Montgomery Ward, and Bank of America. Filed alphabetically by folder description, the collection consists of correspondence, reports, meeting minutes, slides, reel-to-reels of the "Viewpoint" program on KSDO Radio, and photographs. In addition, the collection's extensive newspaper clippings include articles from and full issues of The Voice, The San Diego Light House, the San Diego Monitor, and Logan Heights' Independent.
Judge Earl Ben Gilliam Papers, 1945-2011 The Earl B. Gilliam Papers document five decades of Gilliam’s career as a judge in San Diego County. The collection includes news clippings, photos, correspondence, invitations, federal bench nominations, court cases, class notes, scrapbooks, award certificates, court dockets, and judicial questionnaires. The majority of the material dates from around the 1940’s to the late 1990's, and highlights Gilliam’s community service, as well as his appointments to local, state, and federal judgeships. The collection is divided into five series: Personal Files (1945-1999), Professional Files (1956-2011), Memorial Files (2001), Scrapbooks (1945-2001), and Video Files (1979-2004).
Center for Community Economic Development Records, 1963-2006 The Center for Community Economic Development Records document the establishment, operation, and curriculum of the Center's thirteen-year existence. The collection includes correspondence, reports, power point presentations, student projects, photographs, certificates, awards, seminar handouts, class curricula, real estate research files, and student rosters. The majority of materials date from 1996 to 2005, and highlight the CCED's efforts to promote and foster community economic development through classes, seminars, and student projects. The Collection is divided into three series: Administrative Files (1963-2006), Student Community Project Files (1996-2005), and Multimedia Files (1996-2006).
United States Civil War Collection, 1811-1987 The United States Civil War Collection contains manuscript and printed materials dating from the Civil War era, as well as later items about the war. These materials include correspondence, speeches, pamphlets, and newspapers. The bulk of the material dates from 1861 to 1865, and both Northern and Southern perspectives are represented. Highlights of the collection include an 1823 bill of sale for a slave and an 1864 diary. Also included is information pertaining to several persons of interest such as Henry Clay, Victor Hugo, Benson Lossing, James Monroe, and Henry Jackson Van Dyke.
Citizens Interracial Committee Recordings of Citizens Interracial Committee community dialogue sessions regarding race relations in San Diego.

University Archives

University Archives Photograph Collection, 1898- This collection, created by Special Collections and University Archives staff, consists of photographs from various campus departments and offices, as well as from university alumni, which document San Diego State University history. The collection includes photographs, negatives, and slides. It is broken into six series: Pre-1931 Photographs, Post-1931 Photographs, Glass Plate Negatives and Lantern Slides, Faculty Photographs..., Slide Binders, and Negatives and Contact Sheet Binders.
University Archives Topical File, 1898- This collection, created by Special Collections and University Archives staff, consists of topical information documenting San Diego State University History. Materials are filed alphabetically by file name.
University Archives Biographical File, 1898- This collection, created by Special Collections and University Archives staff, consists of biographical information about former faculty, staff, and students of San Diego State University. Materials are filed alphabetically by individual's last name.

Print Collections

Rare Books Collection

The Rare Books Collection contains many historical items related to African Americans. The holdings document a wide variety of African-American topics, including: slavery, abolition, the civil war, civil rights, education, religion, art, and music. General keyword searches for the PAC Advanced Keyword Search include: "black," "civil rights," "slave*" (for slave and slavery), "Negro," " Africa*" (for Africa, African, and African American), and "abolition." Remember to limit your search to "Special Collections."

The following are specific groups of holdings related to African-American history from the early nineteenth century to the early twentieth century:

Abolition, Slavery, and Civil War – Dating from the 1830s to twentieth century, these publications document American and British views on slavery and African Americans both before and after the Civil War. Search "abolition*," "slave*," or "Civil War" in the PAC and sort by date.

Graphic and Ephemera Collections

John and Jane Adams Postcard Collection, 1880-2007 The postcards document over 100 years of history and communication. The collection includes over 4,000 postcards of San Diego County, and over 200,000 cards from all over the world.
San Diego Photograph Collection, 1870-1975 The San Diego Photograph Collection is modest in size with only 700+ images, yet some are of particular interest to those interested in the military in San Diego, Coronado and Hotel del Coronado, and outlying San Diego County.
Radical Ephemera and Underground Publications Collection, 1966-2013 This collection covers social issues of the late 1960s to mid 1970s in the United States, especially as manifested on the San Diego State University (College) campus and in San Diego County. These issues include women's rights, civil rights, Marxism, Socialism, Vietnam war protests and other issues related to military conflicts, prisoners' rights, and counter-culture or alternative lifestyles.

Vince Meades Sheet Music Collection (unprocessed) [ MS-0004 LA 4410, Special Collections and University Archives ]

Online Exhibits

Creating Community: African Americans in San Diego Online Exhibit

Africana Studies

Library Hours

e-Resource Problem Report

Manuscript and Archival Collections

University Archives

Print Collections

Graphic and Ephemera Collections

Online Exhibits