Research by Subject: Television and Film: SDSU Special & Archival Collections

SDSU Special Collections & University Archives

These entries describe historical primary source collections available for research in Special Collections at the SDSU Library. Special Collections houses unique archival and manuscript collections, rare books and manuscripts, and graphic/ephemera collections. For more information on accessing these collections, contact SCUA at askscua@sdsu.edu or 619-594-6791.

Search Results for "Television" in the SDSU Archives Finding Aid
American Federation of Television and Radio Artists (AFTRA), San Diego Chapter Records, 1970-1978
The San Diego branch of AFTRA was established in 1968 and is concerned with promoting and advancing persons associated with the radio, television, and record industries. The collection includes constitution and by-laws, agreements with local television and radio stations, newsletters, and miscellaneous materials relating to the national organization of AFTRA.
Art Linkletter Collection, 1940-2005
Art Linkletter was a native Canadian who moved to San Diego as a child. While attending SDSU, he was hired as a radio announcer for local station, KGB. Linkletter moved to Hollywood to pursue his career in radio and television. He created several comedic audience-participation shows, including Beverly Hills (1955) and The Art Linkletter Show (1961). This collection includes: scrapbooks, photographs, scripts, teleplays, promotional materials, press clippings, LPs, DVDs, books on tape, and various memorabilia.
Desi Arnaz Papers, 1947-1976
Desi Arnaz was a prominent musician and actor, who donated materials related to his last sitcom, "The Mothers-In-Law" to SDSU in 1971. In 1972, Arnaz began teaching classes in studio production and television acting at SDSU. He also served as the United States ambassador to Latin America under Richard Nixon.
George A. Sunga Television Collection, 1964-1996
The George A. Sunga Television Collection documents the evolution of Sunga’s four-decade career as a television producer at CBS, ABC, and Paramount. The collection consists of production binders, scripts, production notes, correspondence with network executives, photographs, schedules, invoices, awards, and other materials related to Sunga’s various producing credits, including Dear John, The Dick Van Dyke Special,The Jeffersons, The Ropers, and Three’s Company, as well as others. The collection is arranged into three series: Production Files, Photographs and Artwork, and Awards.
Homer and Betty Peabody Magic Lantern Collection,1800-2006
Betty and Homer Peabody collected late nineteenth- and early twentieth-century magic lanterns and slides for several years during their retirement. The collection consists of over forty magic lanterns and approximately 5000 glass slides. The slides range in size and type and include hand-painted slides, photographic slides, and chromolithographic slides. The collection includes supporting texts and literature related to magic lanterns, their history and the collecting of lanterns and slides as well. A comprehensive online exhibit of this collection is available here.
The Incredible Mr. Limpet Production Material Collection, 1960-1964
This collection includes production materials for "The Incredible Mr. Limpet" (1964), an animated children's film about a fish that helps the U.S. Navy defeat the Nazis during World War II. Materials include treatments, outlines, synopsis, screenplay, business correspondence, agreements, contracts, research material, Navy material, publicity, animation cells, and three reels of 35-mm film of "The Incredible Mr. Limpet."
Mark Freeman Papers, 1997-2005
Mark Freeman was a documentary filmmaker and Associate Professor of Television, Film and New Media in the School of Theatre, Television and Film at San Diego State University, where he currently teaches. The collection documents four films he made concerning environmental and social issues in San Diego.
Movie Poster Collection, 1930-1981
The Movie Poster Collection consists of twenty-nine original and facsimile posters. They are filed alphabetically by film title.
John Martin Television Journalism Collection
The John Martin Television Journalism Collection documents the career of newspaper and television reporter John Martin from his time as an editor of the San Diego State newspaper The Aztec in 1960 to his departure from ABC News in 2002. This collection consists of personal documents and mementos, records from Martin’s time as adjunct professor of the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, scripts from Sacramento,...
Dates: 1960-2011; Majority of material found in 1965-2002

Our Rare Books Collection contains many historical items related to the subject of performing arts, including Use the Library Catalog's Advanced Keyword Search in OneSearch. After searching, use the limits on the left to limit the location to “Special Collections.”

Chater Science Fiction Collection
Elizabeth Chater, professor emeritus of English at San Diego State University, began donating her personal library to Special Collections in 1977. The original collection consisted of science fiction (especially Golden Age and New Wave), fantasy, horror and gothic literature, and was distinguished by a number of first editions, many signed, as well as numerous rare "pulp" serial titles. The original collection has been expanded over the years by several generous donors, and currently totals over 4,300 book and serial titles. Search by title: "Chater Science Fiction Collection" in the library catalog to view a complete list of holdings. To perform a focused search, use the catalog's Advanced Search function to search keyword "Chater" with any author and/or title keywords, and limit to location: Special Collections.

San Diego State University School of Theatre, Television and Film (1.25 linear ft.)

Television and Film

Library Hours

e-Resource Problem Report

SDSU Special Collections & University Archives

Our Rare Books Collection contains many historical items related to the subject of performing arts, including Use the Library Catalog's Advanced Keyword Search in OneSearch. After searching, use the limits on the left to limit the location to “Special Collections.”