The Civil Rights and Social Justice collection contains 650+ titles from the United States Commission on Civil Rights, nearly 1,000 congressional hearings, civil rights legislative histories, and nearly 1,400 books, reports, and publications.
The Criminal Justice Collection has more than 250 journals covering the topics of studying law, law enforcement and terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more. Gale platform Listen feature instructions
Over 101,400 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.
Race Relations in America is a collection of documents produced by the American Missionary Association's Race Relations Department between 1943 and 1970 to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict.
This collection includes primary and secondary resources such as:
- audio recordings of speeches
- photographs of the participants at the Annual Race Relations Institutes
- survey material covering school desegregation, church integration, employment practices, housing and recreation, including interviews and raw data, and the resulting analyses, statistics and reports.
- detailed case studies on race relations in cities such as Baltimore, Pittsburgh, Minneapolis, Trenton, Nashville, and San Francisco.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. To click through to the database, click on the San Diego State University, San Diego option.
International and U.S. regional and national newspapers, wire services, and broadcasts covering social, economic, environmental, government, sports, people, the arts, health, and science issues and events.
Includes current access to the San Diego Union Tribune by clicking on the "USA-California" link from the main page.
From May 25, 2020 through the end of 2020, 36 states and Washington D.C. introduced more than 700 bills addressing policy accountability, nearly 100 of which were enacted. NCSL, with support from Arnold Ventures, has produced a database of law enforcement statutes covering a number of policy areas that play a key role in law enforcement effectiveness and accountability.
The National Conference of State Legislatures provides you with up-to-date, real-time information on law enforcement legislation that has been introduced in the 50 states and the District of Columbia covering: Executive Orders, Oversight and Data, Policing Alternatives and Collaboration, Technology, Training, Standards and Certification, Use of Force, and other issues.