Theatre

The Old Globe Theatre Photograph Collection documents the photographic history of the Old Globe Theatre and contains four series: Productions; Shakespeare Festival; Events, Programs, and Facilities; and Portraits and Publicity Stills.

COMBO was organized in the fall of 1964 for the purpose of combining fund-raising efforts in the San Diego area to support the arts in San Diego.

Documents the history of the Hispanic Theatre of San Diego and the professional career and personal life of its creator, Jesus Sierra-Oliva. The collection includes scores of Sierra-Oliva's musical creations, original artwork, play scripts, photographs, programs, video and cassette tapes of his productions, and correspondence. The primary foci of his creative talents were Walt Whitman and his Leaves of Grass, the Masonic music of Mozart, the soprano Maria Callas, Maximilian and Carlota and the history of Mexico, the poet Garcia Lorca, and Mexican painters Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo. The records also include personal papers relating to the life and family of theater founder Jesus Sierra-Oliva.

Jessica Levy compiled this collection of playbills ranging in date from 1955 - 2003. The majority document performances in New York City theaters, but a few were created for international productions. Broadway and off-Broadway stage efforts are represented.

The Darlene Gould Davies Collection consists of documents, materials, and ephemera from the Old Globe Theatre as well as personal files and materials collected during her active career in the San Diego community. It contains correspondence, meeting minutes, article clippings, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, journals, flyers, mailings, advertisements, brochures, posters, pamphlets, playbills, invitations, photographs, DVDs, CDs, VHS tapes, scrapbooks, stationery, and commemorative artifacts.

The Vishner Performing Arts Collection consists of programs, flyers, playbills, and reviews of performing arts events, primarily from Southern California and cities throughout the US and Canada. Also included are a small amount of information about performing arts groups and individuals.

The Ellis Family Collection consists of theater and movie scripts by Edith and Edward Ellis, playbills, programs, reviews, photographs, and information about the Ellis family, specifically Edith Ellis. Also included are movie house ledgers, movie production picture magazines, posters, and promotional photographs from the Bijou Theater in St. Paul, Minnesota. Its connection with the Ellis Family is unclear; possibly the theater was operated by the Ellis Family.

The Lowell Davies Papers consist of correspondence, organizational documents, architectural records, financial records, meeting minutes, committee reports, programs, publications, newspaper and magazine clippings, publicity announcement, and photographs. The collection measures 7.5 linear feet and spans the period from 1911 to 1988. The materials in this collection pertain to the production and physical history of the San Diego Old Globe Theatre (San Diego Community Theatre), including Falstaff Tavern (Cassius Carter Center Stage).

The collection consists of programs, fliers, and magazines pertaining to theater, music, and dance.

Documents rehearsals, stage directions, musical compositions, participants, and venue preparation for JuleTone performances. The Collection consists of sheet music with notations, original lyrics, cast lists, news clippings, photographs, audio recordings, production invoices, invitations, correspondence, stage directions, programs, plaques, and performance DVDs.

This collection is made up of ten manuscript playscripts and actors sides, from plays written between 1900 and 1913. Some are copyrighted and published by the Chicago Manuscript Company. The majority seem to have been produced by a theatrical company called "Gray, Dowell, and Company"; the names Julia Gray and Ed Dowell appear consistently as names of actors. Scripts and sides have manuscript notations and stage directions, presumably made by the actors; most sides have the name of the actor to play the role pencilled on the front cover.

Consists of photographs and other images of several hundred individuals and groups. The majority of photos are of theater and other arts personalities of the 20th century. Examples are Maude Adams, Beaux Arts Quartet, Harry Belafonte, Johnny Cash, Judy Clayton, Greta Garbo, Jack London, Steve Martin, Ralph Nader, Pablo Picasso, Mort Sahl, and Frank Zappa.

This collection consists of personal correspondence, theater programs, and press clippings.

The small collection consists of plays that Jones wrote for students in the Drama Department and Speech Arts Department while at San Diego State, musical compositions (presumably also performed at SDSU), and course materials for music theory and drama classes.

This small collection consists primarily of research materials used by Merle Clayton, author of several local history pieces for San Diego Magazine. The materials consist of paper records, photographs, and several copies of San Diego Magazine. Clayton did a series of pieces on topics in the history of theatre and performing arts in San Diego, and most of this material pertains to that work.

The materials in this collection document the rich history of the performing arts in San Diego from the late 1940s to 2001, as collected by the Entertainment Department at the San Diego Union. The editor of the Entertainment Department, Welton Jones, maintained these working files during his many years as a columnist for the San Diego Union and as an enthusiastic patron of the performing arts in San Diego. His Entertainment staff added many items to the collection, including photographs from the Photography Department of local venues, performers, and performances.

The Mona Mitchell Theater Program Collection dates from 1925 – 1991, and documents theatrical productions especially in New York City throughout those years, particularly the 1930s.

The Clarence “Beeb” Salzer Collection documents the professional and artistic career of Beeb Salzer and includes ephemera, photographs, and artworks from the course of his career, beginning with his time at Yale. The bulk of the collection dates from 1955-2013. Materials include newspaper clippings, playbills, correspondence, photographs, set designs, speech manuscripts, legal papers, and paintings.