Linguistics

David Crystal's A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics has long been the standard single-volume reference for its field. Includes in excess of 5,100 terms, grouped into over 3,000 entries. Coverage reflects recommendations by experts in phonetics, phonology, syntax, semantics, sociolinguistics and psycholinguistics.

The first edition of ELL (1993, Ron Asher, Editor) was hailed as "the field's standard reference work for a generation". Now the all-new second edition matches ELL's comprehensiveness and high quality, expanded for a new generation, while being the first encyclopedia to really exploit the multimedia potential of linguistics.

Comprising more than one million words, the 2nd edition of the International Encyclopedia of Linguistics encompasses the full range of the contemporary field of linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, and philosophical linguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within branches of linguistics and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines.

This book offers introductory entries on 80 ideas that have shaped the study of language up to the present day. Entries are written by experts in the fields of linguistics and the philosophy of language to reflect the full range of approaches and modes of thought. Each entry includes a brief description of the idea, an account of its development, and its impact on the field of language study.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods in Education has brought together scholars from across the globe who use qualitative methods in their research to address the history, current uses, adaptations for specific knowledge domains and situations, and problematics that drive the methodology.

The Routledge Linguistics Encyclopedia is a single-volume encyclopedia covering all major and subsidiary areas of linguistics and applied linguistics. The 79 entries provide in-depth coverage of the topics and sub-topics of the field. Entries are alphabetically arranged and extensively cross-referenced so the reader can see how areas interrelate. Including a substantial introduction which provides a potted history of linguistics and suggestions for further reading, this is an indispensable reference tool for specialists and non-specialists alike.

Applied linguistics is an interdisciplinary field that identifies, examines, and seeks solutions to real-life language-related issues. Such issues often occur in situations of language contact and technological innovation, where language problems can range from explaining misunderstandings in face-to-face oral conversation to designing automated speech recognition systems for business.

Combines individual entries ranging from 1,500 to 4,000 words, with longer, essay-style contributions giving a detailed overview of key developments and ideas. Includes over 1,100 entries written by an international team of scholars from over 40 countries. Covers 27 key areas of the field, including Language Learning and Teaching, Bilingual and Multilingual Education, Assessment and Testing, Corpus Linguistics, Conversation Analysis, Discourse, Cognitive Second Language Acquisition, Language, Policy and Planning, Literacy, and Technology and Language

The progression from newborn to sophisticated language user in just a few short years is often described as wonderful and miraculous. What are the biological, cognitive, and social underpinnings of this miracle? What major language development milestones occur in infancy? What methodologies do researchers employ in studying this progression? Why do some become adept at multiple languages while others face a lifelong struggle with just one? What accounts for declines in language proficiency, and how might such declines be moderated?

Three hundred entries by leading scholars in a variety of fields--from anthropology and literary theory to linguistics and philosophy--survey the study of signs and symbols in human culture in this new work. The articles cover key concepts, theories, theorists, schools, and issues in communications, cognition, and cultural theory. From introductions to Barthes and Bakhtin to analyses of gossip and myth, this is a valuable reference for students and scholars.

Accommodates a broad interpretation of sociolinguistics, including macro- and micro-sociolinguistics and a range of approaches within variationist, interactional, critical, and applied traditions. The burgeoning field of sociolinguistics (the socially oriented study of language) is characterized by increasing heterogeneity and a proliferation of theories, concepts, and new terminology.

The International Encyclopedia of Language and Social Interaction is an invaluable reference work featuring contributions from leading global scholarst. The definitive international reference work on a topic of major and increasing importance, in a new series of sub-disciplinary international encyclopedias.

The Ethnologue: Languages of the World, is a comprehensive reference book that catalogs all languages known to be in use in the world today.