Research by Subject: Pol S 495: Legal Research

Bills & Laws

California Legislative Information
Includes ability to search California bills, laws, and publications along with keeping current on latest information being discussed in the California Legislature.

Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
Legislative information from the Library of Congress.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Congressional publications and legislative histories; bills, laws, and regulations; member biographical and committee assignment information; and insider\\'s perspectives on legislative activities through the National Journal.
This resource searches the full text of three historical newspapers, the Chicago Defender (1909-1975), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), and the New York Times with Index (1851-2014).

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources. Nexi Uni provides access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; and full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Nexis Uni screen reader instructions
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is the academic version of Westlaw. Law sources include the full text of U.S. state and federal court opinions, statutes, and regulations; European Union statutes, court decisions, and related material; 800+ law reviews and journals; legal encyclopedia and dictionary. News sources include the full text of newspapers and news magazines; 400+ newswires; newsletters; 900+ broadcast transcripts. Also includes selected business, trade, and professional journals and publications; company information for private and public U.S. corporations; SEC filings.

Instructions for Using Westlaw and Introduction to Legal Research on Westlaw

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline contains more than 150 million pages and 160,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline covers more than 2,400 law-related periodicals. In addition, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources. Nexi Uni provides access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; and full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Nexis Uni screen reader instructions

California Legislative Analyst's Office (LAO)
Non-partisan fiscal and policy advisor for the California Legislature and includes information on the budget, propositions, publications, and more.