Market/Brand Share & Rankings - BA 405 - Nicasio Mercier and King - Research by Subject at San Diego State University

Market/Brand Share

Difference Between Market and Brand Share:

Market share is the percentage of the overall market that is owned by a particular company, and brand share is the percentage of the overall market that is owned by a particular brand. This is an important distinction in industries where a select few companies own a multitude of brands, such as craft beer.

Example of Market Share:

The % of the overall beer market that is owned by the Molson Coors Brewing Company

Example of Brand Share:

The % of the craft beer market that is owned by the Goose Island Brewery (Goose Island is a subsidiary of Anheuser Busch InBev, not a stand alone company)

Finding Market or Brand Share:

Business Insights: Global
Business Insights: Global also contains the information from Market Share Reporter in addition to articles and news from several other sources that may contain market share information. Enter the name of the company or brand that you are looking for and "market share" or "brand share" in the search bar.
My IBISWorld
Provides thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information, inlcuding economic, demographic and government data on over 700 American industries. The "Major Companies" tab will have the market percentages owned by the major players and the "Competitive Landscape" tab will have more information and figures regarding the industry concentration.
Market Share Reporter Online
This publication contains a compilation of reported market share data on companies, products and services. Enter the name of the company or brand that you are looking for and "market share" or "brand share" in the search bar.
ABI/INFORM
The "Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports" in ABI/INFORM are detailed quarterly reports that cover multiple industries in multiple countries, and the several of these reports mention major players in the industry in that country as well as some market/brand share information. NOTE: These reports are not published every quarter for every country.

To find these reports, place this in the search bar: pubid(2044556)

Business Rankings

Gale Directory Library
One of the publications in the Gale Directory Library is the Business Rankings Annual, and this publication track several business rankings, their source, and the source publications methodology. These rankings can be browsed by industry and keyword searched. Some Example rankings are:
"Best Corporate Citizens" in a particular industry
"Best Mid-Size Employers" in a particular industry
"Fastest Growing Companies" in a particular industry

San Diego Business Journal's Book of Lists
"The Book of Lists is an exclusive compilation of more than 90 lists containing data and contacts for San Diego County businesses. Each list contains phone numbers, addresses and contact names of business principals, websites, number of employees and annual revenue."
*These lists include "Best Places to Work" and top companies in various industries such as Meetings and Events and Craft Beer.

ESG (Environmental, Social and Corporate Governance) and CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility) Rankings

Library Databases:

Gale Directory Library
One of the publications in the Gale Directory Library is the Business Rankings Annual, and this publication track several business rankings, their source, and the source publications methodology. These rankings can be browsed by industry and keyword searched. Some Example rankings are:
"Best Corporate Citizens"
"Best Mid-Size Employers"
"Canada's Most Responsible Mid-Sized Companies"

Free Websites:

Most of this content was written by or adapted from Kresge Library Services (Current as of August 20th, 2019).

SAM Sustainability Yearbook
"In 2019, 4710 companies were assessed in the SAM Corporate Sustainability Assessment (CSA)*. Since 1999, SAM has been conducting the annual CSA and has compiled one of the largest and most comprehensive global databases on corporate sustainability."
100 Best Corporate Citizens
Fortune's Best Companies to Work For
Global 100 Most Sustainable Corporations in the World
Newsweek Green Rankings
World's Most Ethical Companies 2007-

BA 405 - Nicasio Mercier and King

Library Hours

e-Resource Problem Report