How-To Research Tutorials Home

A search tool that provides access to the 8 million items previously found in the SDSU Library Catalog, along with results from nearly two hundred journal database packages. It searches accross many of the library databases in one place. 

What does OneSearch search?

• SDSU Collections - The SDSU book collection (both print and online) along with the contents of select online article databases. These includes journals, and multimedia resources, along with our book collection.  
• CSU Print Titles - The print book collections of all 23 California State University campuses.
• Course Reserves - The materials your instructors have put on reserve in the ​​​​SDSU library for your class.

Should I use OneSearch?

OneSearch can be a good place to start. It searches across multiple databases in a variety of disciplines but it does not search all of them, and results will be from across many fields of study. Resources from several large database collections are not included in these results. 

For most searches it will be quicker and easier to find the information that you need by using a subject or resource specific database for your field of study.  These will provide you options to narrow your search not available in OneSearch, and you will have less unrelated information to sort through. 

How do I know what databases to use? 

Librarians have created guides to point you to the databases that work best for your field of study.  Click on the button below to access these guides. 

Research Guides