This guide offers basic information on using images and media in research. Reasonable use of images and media in teaching, course papers, and graduate theses/dissertations are generally covered by fair use.
The Cleveland Museum of Art announced that it is an Open Access institution, using the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) designation for high-resolution images and data as related to its collection. At the Cleveland Museum of Art, Open Access means the public now has the ability to share, collaborate, remix, and reuse images of many as 30,000 public- domain artworks from the CMA’s world-renowned collection of art for commercial and non-commercial purposes.
On February 7, 2017, The Met made all images of public-domain works in its collection available under Creative Commons Zero (CC0). Whether you're an artist or a designer, an educator or a student, a professional or a hobbyist, you now have more than 406,000 images of artworks from The Met collection to use, share, and remix—without restriction.
NASA's new image library consolidates imagery spread across 60 collections into one searchable locations. Users can embed content in their own sites and choose from multiple resolutions, including the original size, to download. Users can see the metadata associated with images, including EXIF/camera data on many images.
Explore over 250,000 objects and archives from the Science Museum, Science and Industry Museum, National Science and Media Museum, National Railway Museum and Locomotion. Reuse our data and the images we have released under a Creative Commons license
Welcome to the Brooklyn Museum collection online, where you’ll find a wealth of information about many of the objects in our rich holdings. We hope these pages will inspire you to explore further—both here and in their galleries.
Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan. Images are available through Creative Commons licenses.
The objective of DigitaltMuseum is that museums’ collections should be made available to anybody who is interested, regardless of time or place. It is hoped that it will now be easier for these collections to be used for image searching, in-depth research, studies, education and for the mutual development of knowledge. Images include those licensed under Creative, Commons and in the Public Domain. DigitaltMuseum is available from Norway and Sweden.
At Museums Victoria, we have been building and researching our collections since 1854. Our priceless collections record Australia's environmental and cultural history. They are an irreplaceable resource for understanding the past, reflecting on the present and looking into the future. Images under Creative Commons licenses and in the Public Domain
The Culturally Authentic Pictorial Lexicon is a dictionary database of images of various objects in a culturally authentic setting for language learning. All images are presented with a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.
Flora-On is a portal that aims to systematize photographic, geographic, morphological and ecological information of all species of autochthonous or naturalized vascular plants listed for the flora of Portugal
The Geograph® Britain and Ireland project aims to collect geographically representative photographs and information for every square kilometre of Great Britain and Ireland. Images are available through Creative Commons licenses.