California Light and Sound is a project to provide access to audio and video materials documenting California history and culture. This source includes hundreds of oral histories, interviews, and video footage from numerous California cultural institutions.
Materials accessible here are Cornell University Library's contributions to Making of America (MOA), a digital library of primary sources in American social history. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.
A wonderful collection which focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images including 7,500 pages of manuscripts, 3,500 books and pamphlets, and 1,200 photographs.
ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. The Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages.
Search the Library of Congress's multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, motion pictures, and texts. The American Memory project, which offered more than 7.5 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections, has been migrated into the LoC's regular holdings. Search for primary sources by keyword and limit by format, date range, or place. You can also search within individual collections.
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary source collections maintained by more than 150 California institutions, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies and museums throughout the state. More than 20,000 finding aids are in the OAC.
Note: Detailed information about using OAC finding aids (also called collection guides) is available http://www.oac.cdlib.org/help/detailedhelp.html#guides.
Just like the Library of Congress, search by subject, date range, source type, and place. Try browsing the subject list first to identify keywords associated with your subject.