Journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. No book reviews.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Kanopy is a collection of documentaries and films that have been requested by faculty for class purposes only.
Some users have difficulty opening Kanopy links in the Safari browser. If the link won't open, try a different browser.
Kanopy has a Public Performance Rights indicator. A "PPR" icon appears near the top of the details page for films that can be shown at free public events.
If you are a faculty member and need a particular film on the Kanopy platform please complete the form HERE.
If you are looking for additional films to watch please browse the Streaming Media Guide: HERE.
If you see videos labeled as "Sample" open the page in a private or incognito window to view the full video.
AVON delivers more than 68,000 titles spanning anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. SDSU has full access to all AVON titles.
All films purchased from Alexander Street, whether streaming or DVD, include limited public performance rights, which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged.
AVON accessibility statement
Disclaimer: Videos in this collection may drop out during the semester without notice.
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2025
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
Contains the full-text of over 1,100 film scripts, and over 430 original images of previously unpublished screenplays. Search options include subjects, character name, writer, film title, actors, and directors.
Alexandar Street Platform accessibility statement
The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Fine Arts & Music Collection includes 10.4 million articles from more than 250 journals on drama, music, art history, and film making.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
Previously known as Variety Insight. Information on the television and movie industries. Includes historical box office information, industry contacts, org charts, production tracking, research, and information on films and TV shows currently in production.
Contemporary performance films by artists in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization.
SWANK offers streaming feature films and documentaries produced by major Hollywood and independent studios. SDSU has access to 500 "core" titles, plus additional titles licensed by faculty request.
SWANK videos are licensed for personal or classroom use only, there are no public performance rights. Rights to screen SWANK titles for campus use other than in the classroom must be licensed separately from this subscription.
If you are a faculty member and need a particular film on the Swank platform please complete the form HERE.
Directions for how to share links with your students: HERE.
*SWANK does not work in Safari, or games console browsers. Please use an alternate browser.
