Paid subscription expires 07/01/2025
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books covering the Korean and Vietnamese conflicts.
Translated news broadcasts and publications on the international reaction to apartheid throughout the African continent and from around the world
Presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture. Includes:
Approximately 60,000 historical articles
hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides
complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature and culture
Hundreds of rare books by Latino-Hispanic Americans
Over 3,000 issues of rare historical newspapers and periodicals
Over 250,000 pages of personal and organizational manuscript content
content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%)
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2025
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
Founded by former slave John Henry Murphy, Sr. when
he merged three church publications, The Baltimore AfroAmerican became one of the most widely circulated African American newspapers on the Atlantic Coast. In addition to featuring the first black female reporter (Murphy’s daughter) and female sportswriters, the paper’s
contributors have included writer Langston Hughes, intellectual J. Saunders Redding, artist Romare Bearden, and sports editor Sam Lacy, whose column influenced the desegregation of professional sports. Through the decades, the newspaper fought for equal
employment rights, urged African American participation in politics, and advocated state-funded higher education for blacks.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
This is the online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. Encompasses books, journal articles and chapters, conference proceedings, anthologies, festschriften, etc. of the annual printed books from 1971 to 1991. From 1992 to present, the Bibliography includes citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in Asian studies and a substantial number of additional citations from earlier years in South Asian studies. Includes Japan-related journals : Japan Echo (Tokyo), Japan Forum (Basingstoke, Hampshire, England; Philadelphia, PA), Japan Review: Bulletin of the International Research Center for Japanese Studies = Nichibunken (Kyoto), Japanese Journal of Religious Studies (Nagoya), Japanese Language and Literature (Boulder, CO), Journal of Japanese Studies (Seattle) and Monumenta Nipponica (Tokyo).
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Border and Migration Studies Online provides historical context and resources, representing both personal and institutional perspectives, for the growing fields of border(land) studies and migration studies, as well as history, law, politics, diplomacy, area and global studies, anthropology, medicine, the arts, and more. At completion, the collection includes 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images covering topics including: Border Identities, Border Enforcement and Control, Border Disputes, Border Criminology's, Maritime Borders, Human Trafficking, Sea Migration, Undocumented and Unauthorized Migration, and Global Governance of Migration.
Alexander Street Platform accessibility statement
1967 to present for Mexican-American experience; 1992 to present for Cuban Americans, Puerto Ricans, and Central Americans. All types of published materials covering art, language, sociology, public policy, economics, history, literature, politics, and law.
15 simultaneous users
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
The core of China: Culture and Society is approx. 1,200 full color, full-text searchable pamphlets held in the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia published mostly in English between 1750 and 1929. This collection includes Annual reports, primary sources such as letters and speeches, and journals.
The Civil Rights and Social Justice collection contains 650+ titles from the United States Commission on Civil Rights, nearly 1,000 congressional hearings, civil rights legislative histories, and nearly 1,400 books, reports, and publications.
Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
Ethnic Diversity Source pulls from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents to cover culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of:
African Americans
Arab Americans
Asian Americans
European Americans
Jewish Americans
Latinx Americans
Native Americans
Multiracial Americans
Newspaper, magazine and journal articles from ethnic, minority and native presses.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
Europeana works with thousands of European archives, libraries and museums to share cultural heritage for enjoyment, education and research. This website gives you access to millions of books, music, artworks and more. Register for a free Europeana account to save liked items and create your own galleries.
A full-text research database that offers essential content covering race-related issues
The Global Issues Library includes coverage of 180 issues, topics, and events from the late 1890s to the present, including border and migration, atrocities and human rights violations, peacekeeping, climate change, terrorism, revolutions, and human trafficking. Specific events explored include the U.S. and Mexico Border, the Rwandan Genocide, the Arab Spring, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, and climate migrants in Asia Pacific.
Alexandar Street Platform accessibility statement
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2025
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
Human Rights Studies Online includes 75,000 pages of text and 150 hours of video about victims of human rights crimes in the 20th and early 21st centuries. The collection provides primary and secondary materials for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than 30 additional subjects.
Alexandar Street Platform accessibility statement
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
Covers the investigations made by the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) during the massive immigration wave of 1880-1930. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930, and European immigration. There are also extensive files on the INS’s regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.
ProQuest History Vault Accessibility Statement
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
American Indian Histories and Cultures is a digital collection providing insight into American Indians and European/American relations from first contact through the civil rights movement of the twentieth century. Users can explore primary source materials including: manuscripts, artwork, photographs, interactive maps, printed materials and newspapers.
American Indian Newspapers aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016.
Following the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the U.S. entry into World War II in December 1941, the Roosevelt administration decided that for reasons of “military necessity,” the government would evacuate all persons of Japanese heritage from the West Coast states. The Records of the War Relocation Authority document the day-today running of the 10 relocation camps from 1942-1946. The collection is organized by relocation center. Records include reports and correspondence on issues such as security, education, health, vocational training, agriculture, food, and family welfare.
Proquest History Vault Accessibility Statement
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2025
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
The Jewish Advocate serves as a primary source of news and information as well as a forum for discussion and debate, providing lines of communication uniting the community and supporting the efforts aimed at reinvigorating and broadening Jewish religious and cultural life.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2025
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
A weekly community paper serving the Jewish interests of Philadelphia. It has been published continuously since 1887 when it was founded by a group of 43 prominent Philadelphians who pledged that the paper would be devoted to the interests of the Jewish people.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
JSTOR Reveal Digital is a crowd-funded open access resource consisting of curated collections of primary source documents. Currently, there are 3 collections available:
Student Activism
American Prison Newspapers, 1800 - 2020
Independent Voices
Jstor screen reader instructions
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2025
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music includes more than 9,000 pages of material and 300 audio recordings, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world focusing on music research of all the world's peoples.
Alexander Street Platform accessibility statement
Paid subscription expires 07/01/2025
Feedback about this resource can be submitted through the Electronic Resource Trial Feedback form.
North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together more than 100,000 pages of autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files to create a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them.
Alexander Street Platform accessibility statement
Race Relations in America is a collection of documents produced by the American Missionary Association's Race Relations Department between 1943 and 1970 to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict.
This collection includes primary and secondary resources such as:
- audio recordings of speeches
- photographs of the participants at the Annual Race Relations Institutes
- survey material covering school desegregation, church integration, employment practices, housing and recreation, including interviews and raw data, and the resulting analyses, statistics and reports.
- detailed case studies on race relations in cities such as Baltimore, Pittsburgh, Minneapolis, Trenton, Nashville, and San Francisco.
Coverage: 1935-1950
Primary source materials chronicling the plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950. Includes pamphlets, ephemera, government documents, relief organization publications, and refugee reports that recount the causes, effects and responses to refugee crises before, during and shortly after World War II.
