Research by Subject: Rhetoric & Writing Studies: 305W Resources

Career Resources

Occupational outlook handbook by U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Call Number: Research Desk HD8051.A62 O33 2018-19
A nationally recognized source of career information designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Print version.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Online and searchable version of the Handbook
Occupational Employment Statistics
The Occupational Employment Statistics (OES) program produces employment and wage estimates annually for over 800 occupations. These estimates are available for the nation as a whole, for individual States, and for metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas; national occupational estimates for specific industries are also available.
CA Occupational Guides
The California Occupational Guides provides detailed information on California wages, job outlook, education, and licensing requirements for approximately 300 occupations.

The college blue book
Publication Date: 2017
Guide to thousands of 2-and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Covers the expected listings and detailed descriptions, degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs

College Source Online This link opens in a new window
Over 6,900 college catalogs representing 2-year, 4-year, graduate and professional schools.

Company Information Sources:

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides up to 15 years/quarters of detailed current and historical financial data for over 10,000 U.S. public companies and their SEC filings, as well as their annual reports. The same kind of information is available for more than 17,000 non-U.S. public companies. Includes Industry Reports for Asia/Pacific, North America and Europe.
PrivCo.com This link opens in a new window
PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.

Users are required to create a free account to access PrivCo.

Industry Information and Reports:

My IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information, including economic, demographic and government data on over 700 American industries. Whether your company requires a better understanding of market conditions and forecasts; whether you need a clearer picture of a supply chain, or whether you need to keep abreast of competitor activity in your industry, IBISWorld’s comprehensive reports will keep you informed.
Market Share Reporter Online This link opens in a new window
Compilation of reported market share data on companies, products and services.