Research by Subject: Starting Your Research and Choosing a Topic: Tools To Help Begin Your Research

Databases to Help You Choose or Refine a Topic

CQ Researcher (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Learn about major issues from current and historical perspectives and the inner workings of the U.S. government from authoritative, accessible, and unbiased sources..
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic reference books, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Check out the Opposing ViewPoints Research Guide
Watch a Tutorial

Opposing Viewpoints In Context includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more on today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

Starting Research & Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Best Bet
All subjects. Articles in journals, magazines, newspapers; etc.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Biography (Gale In Context)
- This link opens in a new window
Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content.
Watch a Tutorial
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
College (Gale in Context)
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
CQ Researcher (Sage)
Learn about major issues from current and historical perspectives and the inner workings of the U.S. government from authoritative, accessible, and unbiased sources..
Credo Reference
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic reference books, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.
EBSCO eBook Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eBook database containing . Previously called NetLibrary. (9/14)
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
General OneFile (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.
Watch a Tutorial
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
Global Issues (Gale In Context)
- This link opens in a new window
Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
Health & Wellness (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.
Watch a Tutorial
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
Literature Resource Center
- This link opens in a new window
This resource offers up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Watch a Tutorial
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
MAS Reference eBook Collection - Worldwide (EBSCO)
This eBook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects for high school students.
Ebsco platform read-aloud feature and screen reader instructions
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Check out the Opposing ViewPoints Research Guide
Watch a Tutorial
ProQuest Ebook Central (Contains EBL, Ebrary & My iLibrary)
- This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of subjects in e-book format.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Ebook Central accessibility statement
ProQuest Research Library
Articles in journals, magazines, trade publications; etc.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions
Proquest Platform accessibility statement
Science (Gale In Context)
- This link opens in a new window
Understand context for hundreds of science topics through overviews, journals, news, interactive experiments, and more.
Watch a Tutorial
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
U.S. History (Gale In Context)
- This link opens in a new window
Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history from a variety of sources.
Watch a Tutorial
Gale platform Listen feature instructions
World History (Gale In Context)
- This link opens in a new window
World History in Context pulls together information from multiple Gale databases to create fact sheets on everything from countries, cultures, and civilizations to economies and biographies.
Watch a Tutorial
Gale platform Listen feature instructions